DEV Community

Raju ghorai
Raju ghorai

Posted on

My journey as Linux user ... currently as Arch User

I'm a huge fan of Linux, and I've been using it for years now.
When I first started using Linux, it was Ubuntu. I loved the customization options and coding experience, but Windows still had WSL, which was a bit experimental at that time.

After watching a YouTuber do cool stuff on Linux, I switched to Ubuntu--and haven't looked back since!

I've used many other distros: Lubuntu (lots of customization options), Kali Linux (really powerful in a small footprint), Parrot OS (very lightweight), Elementary OS (simple and elegant), Linux Mint (Modern UI), Fedora (huge number of packages available via AUR), and Pop OS as my last distro before switching to a new laptop with Nvidia driver only one that came with preinstalled NVidia driver was Pop OS.

I've been using Arch Linux for the past year and a half. The customization options on Ubuntu were too limited for my taste--and as a result, I had trouble finding the software that fit my needs.
I switched to Arch because of its flexibility: You can install almost any package from AUR or from the official repositories, if you want to do so. You can also create your own packages from source code (called "building"). This means that you can customize your system in any way that you want! It's also easy to build custom kernels if you want them (though these take longer).And best of all? Arch provides more flexibility while installing than other distributions do! My first installation took me four tries before I got it right--but then everything worked like magic!

Image description

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
zobaidulkazi profile image
Zobaidul Kazi

Good Idea, Thanks a Lot...