DEV Community

Luke Babich
Luke Babich

Posted on

How to identify and avoid burnout as a software developer

Recently me and some friends have been working on a side project. Since we had been hanging out together a lot more you start to get some insight into how they manage their time, as well as see how they burnout.

This started to get me thinking that in the current tech space there is this constant need for validation and push towards always learning. However it is not talked about how on top of your regular job these extra learnings, side projects and general life start to add up and contribute to burnout.

I recently made a video that outlines the issues and how to deal with burnout.

However I will also discuss it here.

The Problem

 
I will focus on one main point within this article and that has to do with how developers (the ones in the frontend space in particular) are swamped with a so much information, tools, frameworks etc.

This is not a bad thing. However I am sure there are people that have reached a point where they have been reading articles or been in software long enough to see the infamous

  • x framework vs y framework,
  • Top 10 tools this week,
  • What you need to know to be a good developer.

Once again these are not necessarily bad. I am more focusing on the mindset. The feeling newer developers start to experience when either coming into the industry or just starting. I know I felt it when I first started and that was when half the current tools didn't exist yet. This feeling of a massive amount of learning.

If I had to list every single tool or framework I have worked with or learnt, either in my free time or work the list would be quite a nice chunky read. The frontend ecosystem is always growing and evolving. However there is always pressure on people to try and learn it all as quick as they can. There is a reason there is a meme behind "Have 3 years of experience in X framework" when it has only been around for a year. This pressure to learn the latest and newest things as fast as possible, causes a ripple effect across the industry.

What does this result in? New and existing developers feeling pressure to dedicate what little time they have and this can lead to burnout and lifestyle imbalances.

The Controversy

 
This take might seem somewhat double edged. On one hand its important to grow your skills. However on the other it is also important to not just wither away learning something that may not even be relevant in a few years time. Or rather, just to live a little.

Some might say that learning is what they enjoy. That is fine and maybe then this article is not something that would really appeal to you. The idea behind this is to identify unhealthy habits that some people have when it comes to learning in their free time, on top of a job, side project and just a general busy schedule.

So what's the solution?

 
The solution is not to stop learning. The solution is to schedule your time accordingly.

As an example I dedicate 30min in the morning and evening (this is more a time to wind down and relax) to reading. During my day job, at lunch I use the gym to stay in shape and ensure I stay healthy.

After work it becomes a choice, dedicate an hour or two to studies/articles/videos or on my side project. The rest of my time is dedicated to what I enjoy, playing games with my friends or watching some TV.

By scheduling this time it ensures that I am getting the right amount of sleep and balance. This balance allows not only for me to grow as a developer but also to grow as a person and enjoy the things I want.

I just want to re-iterate. If what you find as fun is learning and doing little code projects this is 100% fine. The point behind the solution is not to stop coding and doing those things. It is about managing your time in order to ensure that you get sleep/exercise/eat well and stay hydrated. What you do for fun is up to you. However that fun should not make you feel pressured or induce anxiety and stress to do it. That fun time should be the stuff that allows you to unwind and reset mentally in order to avoid a prolonged or new burnout.

I hope this was helpful to some as I have found this is what works best for me. Feel free to leave any questions and if you did check out that video that is much appreciated as well!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
zoebourque profile image
zoebourque

Thanks for sharing this helpful post. And I completely agree to avoid burnout we need a regular schedule and make it a routine. On top of that, don't be afraid to ask for help.