DEV Community

Cover image for ⚠️Problems are just opportunities for solutions: What I learned today
Coding Werkstatt
Coding Werkstatt

Posted on

⚠️Problems are just opportunities for solutions: What I learned today

Today I struggled with solving a problem at work. So I activated my search machine and looked for some methods for problem solving. I found a lot of descriptions but nothing of these advices worked...
Then I discovered a good and quite simple list of steps to follow.

When you can describe it you get it

It's something I thought I already know. But when reading it, I got a new view on this topic. Why not writing a complete story of the problem. So I fired up a text editor and wrote my problem story aaannnd it worked!
The story involved all views and perspectives of the problem. What is the problem about? How did the problem arise? With which solved problems is this problem comparable?

All this lead to my solution!!! What do you think about this approach? Which other ways do you have to handle complex problems?
Let me know I'm happy to read your comments

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mrlinxed profile image
Mr. Linxed

Ha, nice one. Reminds me of: If you can't explain it in simple terms you don't really understand it.

Collapse
 
codingwerkstatt profile image
Coding Werkstatt

Well, it was just a simple story but before starting with it, i was stuck with my way of thinking. The story gave me the opportunity to let my thoughts flow and get a bigger scope