DEV Community

Cristian
Cristian

Posted on

Share your WFH setup!

Top comments (25)

Collapse
 
mrrcollins profile image
Ryan Collins

I’m picking a different retro computer every week to use as terminal. In honor of Apple’s birthday, I picked a //c+ this week. It connects with my homebuilt WiFi modem. I use the terminal for IRC and for writing documentation. Next week is my VT420 terminal’s turn.

Collapse
 
admantium profile image
Sebastian

Hi Ryan, this terminal looks amazing :) Can you point me to a reference about the concrete model? And what other terminals do you have?

Collapse
 
mrrcollins profile image
Ryan Collins

The terminal is an Apple IIc Plus, the last of the line of 6502 based 8-bit computers from Apple. I'm using the communication software MODEM.MGR on the Apple for its vt220 emulation. The computer connects over serial to a serial to USB adapter which connects to a CHIP computer (a single board computer like the Pi running Debian). The CHIP is running a piece of software called tcpser which provides a modem emulator. The idea for the wifi modem came from The PiModem Project.

The workflow is the //c+ "dials" in to the CHIP computer, and from there I ssh to where I need to go. I use tmux to manage all of my terminal sessions.

I only have one true terminal, a Dec VT420. That terminal will be set up for next week. I have several retro computers that I can use as terminals which I will be digging out in the weeks to come since it looks like I'll be home for at least 4 more weeks. 😁

Thread Thread
 
admantium profile image
Sebastian

Thx for sharing, you are inspiring me :)

Collapse
 
cristian profile image
Cristian

😍😍

Collapse
 
cristian profile image
Cristian • Edited

WFH setup

  • MacBook Pro 16"
  • LG UltraFine 5K Display
  • Magic Keyboard
  • Magic Trackpad
  • Awair Element
  • Bose Companion 2 Series III
  • Macally Vertical Laptop Stand
  • West Elm Mid Century Mini Desk
Collapse
 
pixelflips profile image
Phillip L. • Edited

The windows really help with the stir-craziness these days!

Desk next to windows

Collapse
 
janguianof profile image
Jaime Anguiano

could you share the model of that chair?

Collapse
 
pixelflips profile image
Phillip L.

If I remember correctly, it’s a Alera Elusion Series.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

My setup in its current very messy state

Collapse
 
macarie profile image
Raul

I thought I was the only person in the world to use a 43" 4K monitor 🤣

Collapse
 
cristian profile image
Cristian

Not terrible! What size monitor is that?

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

43 inch 4k 😄

Far enough from my face that I can see everything

Thread Thread
 
sabbin profile image
Sabin Pandelovitch

That's the one thing I miss mostly from my office 😓

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙

I took this photo on the day our office was closed and everyone was sent home early due to someone possibly having COVID-19. I can't believe that was over 3 weeks ago now!

Luckily I already had some monitors at home so WFH hasn't been too bad. I've since bought a stand for my laptop too.

Collapse
 
cristian profile image
Cristian

Portrait oriented monitors are very underrated

Collapse
 
hakash profile image
Morten Olsrud

Well?
Here is my setup. Still missing a good cam, and I'm waiting for a mechanical keyboard with some RGB niceness.

Collapse
 
michalzuber profile image
Michal Zuber

How did you connect 3 monitors to your notebook?

Collapse
 
hakash profile image
Morten Olsrud

1 HDMI, 1 USB-C to HDMI and one USB-C to DisplayPort 😊 It's a Lenovo X1 Extreme work computer.

Collapse
 
cristian profile image
Cristian

Is it sad that the only reason I got the 5K UltraFine was because all webcams were sold out and it has an integrated cam? Upgraded from the 4K UltraFine 😐

Collapse
 
hakash profile image
Morten Olsrud

Nah, that monitor will last a looong time. I'm starting to look into Action Cameras (a la GoPro) and cam-corders to see if that can be a solution.

A cheap actioncam without too much fish-eye effect that supports live streaming over some sort of cable would be almost on par with an actual FullHD webcam. Just need to find that combo 😉

Collapse
 
sabbin profile image
Sabin Pandelovitch • Edited

Here's my gaming/workstation Win10/Ubuntu space augmented with the MacBook, all in one... Work, play, create.

WFH

Collapse
 
jcoelho profile image
José Coelho • Edited

In the beautiful Madeira Island 😁
image

Collapse
 
notrab profile image
Jamie Barton

Setup

Collapse
 
pavelloz profile image
Paweł Kowalski • Edited

MBP 15" 2015. - On the road.
iMac 27" 2013 + 27" monitor - when im home.