DEV Community

D3zibel
D3zibel

Posted on

Does writing a "Dev Blog" help improving your skills?

Hi I am Stefan and I have been a developer since two years now.
This is my first post here on dev.to but I am really curious what you think about this topic :)

Every now and then I am asking myself if writing a developer blog (or maybe even a live coding stream) would improve my skills in coding.

The main reason behind my thinking is, that the explanation of something complicated in a simple way, for example to other developers in my team, can change my point of view to some algorithms or written code.

Most of the time it happens, that i refactor my code right afterwards I had a talk with another team member because it fells like I was hit by an enlightenment.

What do you think about this?

Can even talking about a topic I don't know that well help me, to improve my skills in a new language or framework? (for example learning node.js and just write some blog entries about what I have learned today and how I could manage to reach a certain goal?)

Every discussion and tip about this is really appreciated :)

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
florimondmanca profile image
Florimond Manca

Hey!

There are many good reasons for getting into tech blogging. :-) For me, it was mainly sharing knowledge with others and sharpening my own knowledge by, as you said, trying to explain things in simple terms. In fact, some of my favorite posts I wrote were ones where I took the reader through a programming tip or a tutorial in a technology I hadn’t used much before.

So if you feel like it, go ahead! I think DEV is a great place to start. :)

Collapse
 
florimondmanca profile image
Florimond Manca

Besides, there are great posts about this topic on DEV. One in particular I’ve found very interesting:

Collapse
 
d3zibel profile image
D3zibel

Thank you very much for your idea and comment! :)

I am not sure if DEV is the right place to start, because some tutorials or even tips might get really "long stories". But I am sure for the first try it could turn out to be much fun :)

Maybe sooner or later I will put up my own blog then :) Thank you !

Collapse
 
obahareth profile image
Omar Bahareth

I personally enjoy technical blogging because it's a form of networking and I get to know know more awesome people through it, and the responses are usually very educating.

Collapse
 
d3zibel profile image
D3zibel

Are you more interested in posting things you are currently learning? Or do you want to show of your solution for a specific problem and see what other ppl think about it?

Collapse
 
obahareth profile image
Omar Bahareth

Lately I've been doing more of showing my solution but I love writing as I learn as well (I did that with my GraphQL article a while back and I loved it), but I sometimes feel anxious doing that or I don't want to add clutter amongst the already good resources on the topic, so I sometimes write on my wiki instead. As an example my own personal reference and "gotchas" for Go syntax, I did not feel it was worth an article because there's already A LOT of content covering its syntax.

I have a habit of not wanting to write an article on a topic if I already found good resources covering it, so a lot of the articles I write are "guides I wish I had", for topics I searched for quite a bit and could not find good resources on.

Thread Thread
 
d3zibel profile image
D3zibel

That is a really good tip! Thanks for your advice :)

I really think the same way as You... As long as there are enough posts out there I don't have to be the 100th one posting it. If there is no proper solution which i can find easily it's worth a try :)