DEV Community

Daniel Golant
Daniel Golant

Posted on

What're You Thankful For?

It's Thanksgiving here in the US. For many people, it's a day of reflection on our challenges and blessings that signals the coming end of the year.

I've recently really enjoyed the #discuss tag and discussion threads on this site. You could say I am a little thankful for them ๐Ÿ™‚. Prompted by Ben, Jess, and Peter's posts expressing gratitude to the community and its sponsors, I am curious to hear the community's response.

What are you thankful for this year?

Feel free to share anything, I don't mean specifically learning, community, or profession-related, I'm just asking in general๐Ÿ™‚.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
panditapan profile image
Pandita

I'm thankful for eating a really bad egg last month that landed me 3 days in the hospital. I know it sounds like a horrible experience (which it was) but, in the middle of it all, I had this really weird dream that made me realize that I was going through a really bad path and since then, I've been taking measures into fixing that!

I think I've gotten better and my life has been getting a lot less frustrating as well! Acceptance has become a huge uhm tool? this month and like I said, things have become a whole lot cooler, so I'm very grateful for all of this :3

(I've also become more corny omg is embarrassed)

Collapse
 
dcruz1990 profile image
Dennis Quesada Cruz • Edited

For entering the university and for having recommended a friend this site.

Collapse
 
raptor78455 profile image
Antoine Raymond

I'm thankful to my company for hiring me while I did not know anything about programming, I am thankful to them for trusting me and helping me when I need it. I have learnt a lot since.

Also, I am thankful to my family, I love them so much and I really enjoy the monthly family meal.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Iโ€™m thankful for the amazing community and volunteer work that so many developers take part in.

You do amazing work!

Collapse
 
gmanon profile image
GManon

I thank God for my family, my wonderful parents, children and husband.

Collapse
 
roger01 profile image
roger-01

I'm really thankful to god for enabling me to learn the craft of Programming.
Been coding since 13 years old and it has been a blessing. A lot of learning opportunities and experiences that has enabled me to become a better version of myself.

Also Thankful to the people whose books or articles I read cause that was the only source of information to me.

Thanks to the general Programmer Community on the internet you guys are super supportive.

Collapse
 
stel profile image
St3l

For realizing a teenage dream this year =)

Collapse
 
pbouillon profile image
Pierre Bouillon • Edited

What a coincidence !
r/ProgrammerHumor

Collapse
 
akshayiyer12 profile image
Akshay Iyer

I'm thankful to current startup I work-in which made me realize a lot of important facts on trusting people, negotiation, code-reviews, technical debt and so many other factors.