DEV Community

Cover image for Building Splitwise - A Tip Splitting App
Daniel Vidar Holm
Daniel Vidar Holm

Posted on

Building Splitwise - A Tip Splitting App

As a developer, I wanted to create a simple and easy-to-use tip splitting app that could help people easily split the bill when dining out with friends or colleagues. I named the app Splitwise and used a combination of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Express, EJS, and Sass to build it.

Image description

Here is the live website if you want to take a look

If you want to create your own Tip splitting app you can follow along with this tutorial Tip Splitting App with HTML, CSS, JavaScript and Express

Project Setup and Technologies Used:

I began by setting up the project using Node.js and the Express framework to handle the backend of the application. I used EJS as the templating engine and Sass to write my CSS.

For the frontend, I used HTML and JavaScript to build the user interface. I used Bootstrap for the CSS framework to quickly build a responsive and mobile-friendly design.

Personal Insights:

Building this app taught me a lot about building a full-stack web application. I learned how to set up a Node.js project, use Express to handle HTTP requests, and use EJS to render dynamic content. I also learned how to use Sass to write more efficient and organized CSS code.

In addition, I learned about the importance of proper input validation to prevent errors and improve the user experience. I also learned about the importance of responsive design for a mobile-friendly user interface.

Resources:

I used various resources to help me build this app, including the official documentation of the technologies I used, online tutorials, and stack overflow.

Conclusion:

Splitwise is a simple yet powerful tip splitting app that makes it easy for people to split the bill when dining out with friends or colleagues. Building this app was a great learning experience for me, and I hope that it can help others as well.

Top comments (0)