DEV Community

Daniel Nagy
Daniel Nagy

Posted on

The American Dream

In this article, I tell the story of my journey into computer science and my struggle with mental health.

While intentionally dramatic at times, I promise this is not a sob story, and I'm not looking for sympathy. I just want to share my story.

Summary

I begin my story by informing the reader that I had a rough start in life and that I had to enter the work force at a young age. I then progress to my high school years when I started messing with computers.

After high school I went to college to study computer science. My junior year I got an internship doing web development. During my internship, I created an open-source project that became popular. I got a job at a startup in Los Angeles and moved to California.

I made some job transitions, and then the pandemic hit. I started working remotely from my apartment in Hollywood. I was miserable living in Hollywood, so I moved to Austin, TX. My job started to become toxic for me but I did not realize it at the time.

I bought a house, and the day after I moved in, my mom passed away. I became very depressed and left my job. For awhile I could not look at code. Now I'm coding again, and I started a blog. I end by telling the reader some things I wish I would have done differently.

If my story sounds interesting to you then you can read it here. I hope your journey was better than mine!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jaloplo profile image
Jaime López

Hey Daniel, writing a blog is something that I hope will help you a lot. In my case, it allows me to express myself and reach people with similar interests. Keep writing and publishing so we can read you.