DEV Community

Daniel da Rocha
Daniel da Rocha

Posted on

Is there an article about the creation of dev.to?

I was scrolling through Ben Halpern's "infinite" list of articles, comments, reactions, etc, in the hope of finding some article about the creation of dev.to.

Couldn't find one... If one is existing, can someone point me to the link?

Thanks!!
Daniel

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

Hmmm probably nothing super satisfying. I could make a post. If anyone has specific curiosities it could act as a good jumping off point.

Here's an AMA I did a little while back

Edit: wrote the post

Collapse
 
danroc profile image
Daniel da Rocha

Thanks for the links! Good reads!

But it would be sooooo interesting to know the whole story, how did you start doing it (technically, but not only...), how did the design come about (from idea to iterations to what we have now), how was launch, what were the hurdles, plans for the future, etc etc...

I love this site and I am sure it would be an inspiring story to read for me and many others :)

Pretty please? ;)

Collapse
 
lucpattyn profile image
Mukit, Ataul

I am at awe, single handedly created it ???? What is the technology in the backend?Really an amazing site and concept.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

I "created" it alone but I've had a great small team and co-founders for a while now. Definitely couldn't be making progress without everybody's work ethic, attitude and complementary skills.

Here's a bit about the tech stack, but this could stand to be re-addressed with changes.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wrote a brain dump in response to this post:

Sorry it's not a better written article 😄

Collapse
 
danroc profile image
Daniel da Rocha

Thanks a lot Ben. I was happy and surprised to see how accessible you were :) Makes me like DEV.TO even more haha

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I was happy and surprised to see how accessible you were

I'm super accessible on dev.to. Less good at answering my emails 😄

Collapse
 
lucpattyn profile image
Mukit, Ataul

Maybe it's about time @ben Halpern wrote one !

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

🤓