DEV Community

Cover image for Nebular Express - devlog #4 - This is the end of the beginning
Nicolas Ramy
Nicolas Ramy

Posted on

Nebular Express - devlog #4 - This is the end of the beginning

Hi,

I started this game for the Minigame a month - FEBRUARY 2024 Game Jam.

Unfortunately, I didn’t finish it on time and I’ve been ranked 88th over 95…

Final result

What went right?

  • I got motivated by participating to this Game Jam
  • I have defined a clear plan to create a game
  • I started to dive seriously into GameDev

What went wrong?

GIrl covering her face

  • I lost a lot of time watching video tutorials for versions of Godot that I’m not using.
  • I lost a lot of time polishing minor elements instead of working on the game mechanics.
  • Even if I didn’t fall into the «scope creep», the initial scope was too large for a beginner.
  • I didn’t dedicate enough time to work on this game.

What I learned?

brown wooden blocks on white table

  • I have a lot to learn before participating to a Game Jam.
  • I had a clear vision of what the game should look like and for a beginning, I had too high expectations based on my skills.
  • Communication is the key, I should have take more time on Marketing to engage more potential fans and have more feedback.
  • I should used the same processes I use professionally to stay organized and transparent to gamers.

Next steps

man sitting on mountain cliff facing white clouds rising one hand at golden hour

For me it’s just the end of the beginning, I wanted to start GameDev as a software engineer and I think this goal is reached because I want to finish what I have started.

I’m sorry for people who try this game and didn’t have the fun I was expected they have by playing this game.

If you accept, I’ll be please to have a second chance to finish this game with a reasonable and realistic timeline. I’ll share with you more informations on the next steps

Thank you all! Stay tuned, see you soon 👋

Originally publish on Itch.io

Top comments (0)