DEV Community

Cover image for deciduously
Ben Lovy
Ben Lovy

Posted on

deciduously

I Can't Trace Time

This is what you get when you try "deciduously" at Dictionary.com:

deciduous [ dih-sij-oo-uh s ] / dɪˈsɪdʒ u əs /

  1. shedding the leaves annually, as certain trees and shrubs.
  2. falling off or shed at a particular season, stage of growth, etc., as leaves, horns, or teeth.
  3. not permanent; transitory.

That's never been an accident. There's some of my past I want to carry into my future and some I emphatically don't, and I'm glad my story is always in flux.

I mean, right? Who's with me?

I've been a little extra-prolific this January. I don't think I'm alone, though, in feeling arbitrarily empowered by not only a new year, but a new decade.

It doesn't make any sense. It doesn't actually apply to my life at all. It's just a month since x, three months until y. But it is how history partitions time, and we're in a new one now, like it or not.

I've got depression and anxiety problems, but who doesn't? There's so much to LEARN out there. It's exciting. Let's define the decade on our terms, based on what's really important.

Everything is always changing and the mere fact that the Internet and FOSS software exist empowers everyone everywhere. Let's optimize that empowerment, and learn more about our craft.

Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

Top comments (0)