DEV Community

Cover image for Using themer to make your own colorscheme
Sabrina
Sabrina

Posted on

Using themer to make your own colorscheme

I love a cohesive theme for my laptop, and when you have many different apps that you work with on the day to day (Slack, terminal, text editor, and so on) it can be frustrating and time consuming to create that cohesive theme experience.

I've also been meaning to try out making my own colorscheme for Vim, but have been frozen a few times with "where to begin paralysis".

Enter themer, the solution to these problems and the tool that allowed me to publish my first vim colorscheme.

I used the web version because setting up a colour palette is a new task for me and I enjoyed the visual interface, although I could have substituted the experience with another visual tool. I found it to be a good introduction to potentially using the command line themer tool in the future.

I mean, look at all the generation options it gives you:

It's also open source if it's missing a tool and you'd like to add one!

All in all this tool saved me hours of time that would have been spent editing a vim colorscheme, generated matching wallpapers and other editor themes for me, and produced readable code that allowed me to make some really easy tweaks to said vim colorscheme, so I thought I'd share in case you are also interested in making your own theme(s) but are uncertain of where to start.

The rest of the themes I generated as a part of trying out themer are here and the unique link to it in themer is here.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Cool..! I use one of my projects called Colorbook to create my favorite color schemes, combinations and to copy color codes easily to themer. I wrote about it on dev.to ๐Ÿงก๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’œ GitHub Link

Collapse
 
deusmxsabrina profile image
Sabrina • Edited

Thanks for sharing! This is a really neat tool, I'll definitely try it out with my next theme ๐Ÿ‘

Collapse
 
r4h33m profile image
Raheem

Totally agree with you. Having a chromatically clean theme on my daily driver is so much easier on my eyes. Makes ones laptop look real good too!

Themer looks slick. I think you might like pywal... on Linux, it can configure almost every single part of your laptop. It's what I use.

Also, garbage-oracle... why is that so meeeee????!!! ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

Collapse
 
deusmxsabrina profile image
Sabrina

Oooh this is so cool, thank you for sharing! I may need to do a round up on all these amazing tools once I've had time to try them all โœจ

I'm glad the name resonates ๐Ÿ˜…

Collapse
 
coreyja profile image
Corey Alexander

Wow this is awesome!! I've tried to make a color scheme 'manually' in the past but this looks so much better!

I also love that you can add new tools! There might be one of two that I would want to add!

Aand this is how I'm gonna spend my afternoon! Thanks again!

Collapse
 
deusmxsabrina profile image
Sabrina

You are so, so welcome! This was my solution to manually creating a color scheme, and the best part is it's really easy to iterate from using a manual approach so that you can still know what's going on.

If you do add new templates I'd love to hear about it; I haven't tried it yet and would love know what that's like!

You're welcome, happy theme-ing!

Collapse
 
ganesh profile image
Ganesh Raja

Great Work!!!

Collapse
 
deusmxsabrina profile image
Sabrina

Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Collapse
 
flrnd profile image
Florian Rand

I wish I could put more unicorns in reactions for creative naming: Garbage Oracle themes!

Collapse
 
deusmxsabrina profile image
Sabrina

Thanks for the unicorn and the reading, I'm glad you like the naming ๐Ÿ˜„!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.