DEV Community

Help me build a web design and developer PC

Hey guys,

I'm trying to build my first web developer PC, I'm looking for something that isn't slow.

I will use the PC for design and code. I want something that is between $1000 and $1700 includes monitor, Keyboard, and mouse.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
tirtakeniten profile image
Tirta Keniten

Hello,

That depends on the design and IDE what you want to use. With the word design, I assume you will use Photoshop, Illustrator, XD. You need Windows 10 for sure.

And for the code, I assume you will use Android Studio, the heaviest IDE in the universe. And some virtualization like Vagrant or Docker.

I don't now the prices for PC, but I can give you the specs.

Processor: Intel Core i7
Memory: DDR4 8GB x 2
Motherboard: Any gaming motherboard that can handle the processor and the memory
PSU: 650 watt or greater
Storage: SSD 256GB and HDD 1TB
Monitor: 4K
If you want dual monitor, consider buy a graphic card. Graphic card needs more power and you should buy a better PSU

Or alternativeley you could buy iMac, better build, long lasting hardware, slick OS.

Collapse
 
dev_abis profile image
𝙰𝚋𝚍𝚊𝚕𝚕𝚊𝚑 𝙰𝚋𝚒𝚜 🇲🇦

Thank you so much for your reply. I have thought about Apple products but they're supper expensive. I think a MacBook pro or iMac with those specs will cost more than a windows PC.

About the graphic card, won't I need one if I'm using one monitor?

Collapse
 
tirtakeniten profile image
Tirta Keniten

Used Apple product still worth it. My Macbook is late 2012, dual core - core i5, 8GB of RAM, 128 GB SSD is still good for coding and design. I can still run 5 container and VScode. And you don't need to install antivirus.

For the graphic card, it depends on the application that will run on your PC. But if you would use Photoshop, definitely you would need one.

Thread Thread
 
dev_abis profile image
𝙰𝚋𝚍𝚊𝚕𝚕𝚊𝚑 𝙰𝚋𝚒𝚜 🇲🇦

True! Used MacBooks still preform well. But usually people in my country sell their MacBooks because they have an issue that they don't tell you about it. When their MacBook has an issue they try to scam someone and sell it to them.
But I will consider your suggestion. Thank you!

Thread Thread
 
tirtakeniten profile image
Tirta Keniten

That's the risk for buying used products. Or you can buy from used Macbook dealer. A bit expensive but you get warranty. Still worth it.

You are very welcome. Good luck for your new PC.

Thread Thread
 
dev_abis profile image
𝙰𝚋𝚍𝚊𝚕𝚕𝚊𝚑 𝙰𝚋𝚒𝚜 🇲🇦

There are no apple dealers here in Morocco.

Collapse
 
sergix profile image
Peyton McGinnis