DEV Community

Minhazur Rahman Ratul
Minhazur Rahman Ratul

Posted on

How I am approaching becoming a better programmer...

Math puts your brain into logical thinking. It’s like a lifting session for your brain. Math will help you become a clear thinker and help you approach life more logically and help you solve any problem in a much easier way.

Today I was given a problem to implement a feature that would calculate the distance between two places and show the paths within those distances in a map. After some research and chatting with GPT, I came across the solution using the Haversine formula related to Trigonometry. Now I could implement that feature by implementing that mathematical algorithm and was thinking about doing that until I came across a helper function provided by the Google Maps api. Which would just take in the distances and calculate the number. Now since it is a development project, I would prefer using this helper function over writing one myself so I can focus on the core logic of the feature.

That's what I have been doing for a long time. Always picking up libraries to solve my problems quickly and easily. While it is a good development practice since I am focusing on shipping features but it kinda destroys my ability to create those functions myself. Understand the behind-the-scenes of those functions and be more logical. It's about developing those muscles.

I realized that due to the extensive amount of library and helper functions usage, I am losing my maths muscles. Ability to be more logical which I should be as a programmer. While I am using those helper functions and getting my job done, I could create them myself and become a better programmer.

Here's my CTA:

  1. Put more focus on maths. Get better at maths
  2. Leetcoding - Solve programming problems
  3. Read books on DSA
  4. Study and understand the behind-the-scenes of the libraries and frameworks I use daily.

A routine must be created in order to maintain those in the long term.

Let me know what advice you have regarding that.

It was a monologue blog, very different than my usual posts. I will share more of these in the coming days. Sharing my learnings and lessons.

Top comments (0)