DEV Community

Bishwas Bhandari
Bishwas Bhandari

Posted on

Why and why not to use Linux?

Reasons to use Linux

Linux has a better environment for programming. It can smoothly execute software like PyCharm, Rider and Android Studio. Linux has a huge source of tools to make a specific task easier. Not only aircrack-ng there are many other CLI based tools, that gonna help you. And one thing, docker also executes awesomely in Linux.

Reasons not to use Linux

Linux has a growing software for video editing which might not fulfill all our requirements. Idiots in the Linux community quarrels over distro i.e. "my distro is better", instead of coding a nice piece of software or staying silent. Image editing and other stuff can be tedious for you. I don't see any point in using Wine, wine just decrease the GUI appearance of the app.
Linux has Krita and Gimp for photo editing, KdelLive for video editing but they may not fulfill all the requirements. Specially, KdelLive can't be used as fully-fledged video editing software like Wondershare Filmora.

Why I am in Linux based OS?

I use Ubuntu, Ubuntu is super awesome. Fool people quarrel over distros but that's not what smart linux users do.
I am a developer, and a memer as well. My meming ablities won't die on Ubuntu. I use two webapp for photo editing, that's Photopea and Canva.
Also, if you wanna be a developer and do some basic security stuff come to Linux and use Linux based OS.

Typical Linux Distro arguments:

Most of the Linux distro arguments are about the desktop environments. You can literally install any desktop environment in any linux based OS you're using. So, let's not quarrel over Linux Distro (aka: Desktop Environment).

Let's contribute on making software and games for Linux. Let's do it.

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

Idiots in the Linux community quarrels over distro, instead of coding a nice piece of software

Just an idea: Maybe don't go around calling people idiots because they refuse to write the software you need for free, and just do it yourself if you think it's that easy.

Oh but it gets worse:

KdelLive for video editing but I don't like both of those app.

It's not that they haven't written those programs already; they just haven't done so in a way that you like it. So they're idiots for not writing the software exactly the way you want it.

But considering how entitled you're acting, I'm sure your own contributions to FOSS are quite amaz- oh, never mind, your github profile is literally empty. Oh well.

Collapse
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

Kinda agree with you, but I am poking those who quarrels over "My distro is better than yours". bishwas-py is my github profile sir.

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

bishwas-py is my github profile sir

You have a different profile linked in your dev account

Thread Thread
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

Sorry for that, lemme fix it. Actually this is my github educational pack (.edu) college account.

Collapse
 
lexiebkm profile image
Alexander B.K.

So far I have only been trying with Live-CD to get accustomed to Linux, also using online tools for trying Linux commands. But these all were very slow, in addition to my laptop which has low specification : 2GB ram. :)
With this laptop, I can only use Sublime Text for development, although I have also installed VSCode, Intellij IDEA and Android Studio :) :)

What scenario do you recommend for installing Linux, esp for low budget ?

  1. Within the same laptop/PC that already has Windows 7 64-bit. Is it good to install Linux for dual-boot in a separate reserved partition ? I am worried about problems when doing this like someone told me about.
  2. If I have to upgrade to Windows 10 that provides subsystem for Linux (WSL), do you think it is enough ?
  3. If all of those above don't fit, then it means I will have to buy another PC/laptop special for Linux.

I cannot continue on learning Python + Django using Apache on Windows, because last time I tried to do, it failed on installing mod_wsgi.
But it is not the only reason; I think it's time for me to learn, try, use Linux in more serious way. Last time I used Linux is when I had to config Nginx in the server to handle cache problem in my web application using SSH from my Windows pc.

Collapse
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

I would never ever suggest dual boot, if you had 32 GB of RAM, I would still suggest you not to use dual boot. For your 2 GB ram, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS or Windows 7 would be great.
Do not install windows 10, your specification can't handle it.

Collapse
 
lexiebkm profile image
Alexander B.K.

Thanks for the reply and suggestion. As for the distro, I actually want to install CentOS. I have read about it as well as other distros. At the last company I worked, the application was deployed on VPS that used CentOS.

Collapse
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

Also, I don't think you need to install apache specifically to run django. Just write codes on django, and do python manage.py runserver

Thread Thread
 
lexiebkm profile image
Alexander B.K.

I know that python-Django has that command for running its own web server. But, because I have already had Apache which is regularly used for running PHP code, I wanted to use Apache for serving python + Django too.

Thread Thread
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

Ohh, you wanna host it with Apache on your VPS or what?

Thread Thread
 
lexiebkm profile image
Alexander B.K.

Not on VPS, but on my local computer for the purpose of learning Python + Django. But it is not my priority now, because I have a new interest in using Go aka Golang as the backend language. Node.Js, Java (with Spring or JEE) are still in my list too. C# and .Net, although very powerful, are massive tech that I don't have time to learn.

Collapse
 
brijrajsinh_parmar profile image
Brijrajsinh parmar

i was a windows user for 11 years, recently switched to Linux Mint..
my experience was mixed.

The Good.

  • the way WIFI connects within seconds contrary to windows make me literally drool. like some times my laptop would be in sleep the whole night and as soon at i wake it in the morning it already would be connected to the WIFI on the contrary windows takes 69 years to connect
  • software installation process with terminal was super straight forward, i loved it.
  • your imagination is the limit when it comes to customization
  • UI is ❤️😩 (or maybe windows UI is just too shitty)

The Bad

  • No Photoshop, No Office, No Vegas Pro yes there are alternatives, like libreoffice, Gimph.. i hate them, they suck. libreoffice works but best of luck with the formatting of files your friend sent you
  • random freezes, my laptop used to just freeze, nothing worked... tried everything under the sun to recover from this stuck phase and preventing it, even mad it to mint forums, nothing... only solution once there was to hard reboot.
  • poor software updates, third party software updates matter because the come baring bug fixes, third party software like slack, quickdock, even whatsaap for desktop, all plagued with bugs.
  • this one is not that significant but the booting time in Linux was a bit higher than the windows counterpart, not that noticeable in the long run but coming from windows immediately it caught my attention.

anywho, i came back into loving arms of windows in about two months into my Linux journey, do i regret it, No.
would i install Linux again, No.
do i feel line one os is superior than other, No.

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo

Protection of Krita: one of the best hand drawing application, I used many years for create some digital arts. No the best but good for example: idea.stemhungary.com/ (pwa program for mobil devices, but work in modern browser - hungarian languages) , but I used Krita windows version few years ago. My solution for linux - like os is macOS, because terminal work with linux command and iterm2 is really fine for day bay day works, plus you can work with best photo editing programs too. Also easy ssh to VPN machine.

Plus I great fun of MacBook Pro with touchbar and touchpad because don't need use mouse, and really small portable to work anywhere, don't need afraid desktop.

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

Krita is an amazing piece of software. It may not do everything (yet), but even just the UI is a massive leap forward from typical linux software from 10 years ago: it's much more aware of the typical user and totally lacks this slight sense of elitism that many other linux programs have ("here at XYZ, we do things differently")

Collapse
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari • Edited

I got a bit confused while using it, cause I guess Krita is more for vector design and digital painting, but I am more into image editing and memeing. What do you think Is krita good for beginners?

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo

Krita is great for pixel graphic, worst for vector and terrible for text. Total good for beginers.

Thread Thread
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

Haha, that's awesome. What do you think, can I use krita to design characters for my game?? I also do Unity gameDev sometime....

Thread Thread
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo

Of course Krita is great for character design, also shine when you would like draw endless texture much much easier than PS.

Collapse
 
dilutewater profile image
Rachit Khurana

I also switched to linux a few months ago, mainly because windows was lagging a lot on my low end pc. Linux runs far far better than windows on my PC. After switching i realized how good linux is.
I initially installed ubuntu but then I installed the KDE desktop environment. I just love the fact that I can customize everything in it.

I am never switching back to Windows ever again.

And regarding the app support, most apps I use are either available on Linux natively or have some awesome alternatives or have a web app.

Collapse
 
dbjones88 profile image
D. Bryson Jones

Ha Ha, me too.
All the joy, none of the license fees. SSH to your server like a boss.
Ubuntu for a daily driver, Arch for messing around and digging deeper into Linux.
VSCode on Ubuntu FTW.

Collapse
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

Yeah sir.

Collapse
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari

Are you using Debian or what as you default OS?