DEV Community

Developer Nation Survey
Developer Nation Survey

Posted on

7 DevOps books to read in 2021

If you are looking to learn more about Ansible, Azure, Docker, Terraform, Kubernetes, and their roles in DevOps, then this blog post is for you. We continue our series of must-read books with 7 DevOps books to read in 2021, as recommended by our friends at Packt.

Azure DevOps Explained

Get started with Azure DevOps and develop your DevOps practices

What reviews say:

” In my opinion, it is definitely one of the greatest books I ever read for DevOps.

Although I am Azure DevOps certified, I really enjoy reading this book and it gives me an extra overview of what I have learned.

It is well structured and the fact that is simple to read and follow along makes it more attractive. “

Terraform Cookbook

Efficiently define, launch, and manage Infrastructure as Code across various cloud platforms

What reviews say:

” I had the chance to read this book and I was really pleased by its content.

noting that this is not the first book or terraform material that I read, I would say that this book contains valuable structured information with also access to code used in various chapters.

it is certainly an asset for those starting their journey with terraform.”

Practical Ansible 2

Automate infrastructure, manage configuration, and deploy applications with Ansible 2.9

What reviews say:

This book is probably perfect for someone with reasonable experience. It was what I needed as a second book to get a good look at the ecosystem and a second opinion of how to use it. “

Kubernetes – A Complete DevOps Cookbook

Build and manage your applications, orchestrate containers, and deploy cloud-native services

What reviews say:

” Great coverage of common Kubernetes and DevOps tools. I’ve learned about some of the tools I haven’t used before like Jenkins X, GitLab, Fossa, Trivy, Litmus Chaos etc.

Although some of the long YAML files are provided in the GitHub repository I got the digital version, makes it easier to copy paste. “

Kubernetes and Docker – An Enterprise Guide

Effectively containerize applications, integrate enterprise systems, and scale applications in your enterprise

What reviews say:

“If you have worked on Kubernetes at all, you have experienced the frustration of trying to go beyond a cluster that has a single config file and a simple layer 7 load-balancer using NGINX. This book does truly target not only the enterprise user, but any person that wants to learn topics that make Kubernetes a complete offering.

I have been looking into the external-dns project on my list for a few months, but I never got around to doing much – Much to my surprise, when I was reading the topics covered in the book, it mentioned Services and external-dns. Chapter 6, alone, to me is one reason to buy the book since it explained and showed me how to install Metallb with external-dns in easy to understand terms and hands-on configuration.”

Learning DevOps

The complete guide to accelerate collaboration with Jenkins, Kubernetes, Terraform and Azure DevOps

” I would suggest reading through each section before you work along with the steps. There’s lots of references to other resources that are not necessarily part of the topics being discussed ”

Docker for Developers

Develop and run your application with Docker containers using DevOps tools for continuous delivery

” When reading articles, tutorials and even books, that is very common that at the end of the reading you struggle about how to translate that to a real production situation. Believe me, this book is different. You get to the end with a sense that you are very likely to know what are the next steps to apply what you learned to your existent or new projects. And this means a lot. The book has some great balance from history, concepts, example and practice. ”

What books have helped you deepen your knowledge of DevOps? Do share in the comments. Looking for more books to read? We have also shared recommended Backend and Frontend books.

By the way, have you taken our latest survey? You can share your experiences of DevOps

Top comments (0)