DEV Community

Cover image for Newbie Coder  -  3min random gist
Devsisi🚀
Devsisi🚀

Posted on • Updated on

Newbie Coder  -  3min random gist

5:08am Saturday JUNE 17 WAT Lagos NG.

Sequel to finding boss @risingodegua's page on medium, I created a blogging account just now thinking "not bad to document my random thoughts as I journey may way to becoming a bada$$ software engineer".

Prequel to my previous action, I found Rising's twitter and website from a series of twitter profile stalkings and many other online prequels - starting from what point? I'm now trying to rack my brain as I'm typing this.

Ok ok it started from earlier today (or rather yesterday) 6–8pm's Fun Friday Session AltSchoolAfrica where our community manager @tabithakavyu thought out loud the possibility of talking with program manager Jerry Uke about adding Rising to our rescue, for us SOE Version 2 students struggling with JavaScript even though teacher @oluwasetemi is already doing a super-fantastic job on our live classes.

Yeah so I thought to myself at that point, Rising…? Why does the name sound so familiar? Sounded like the name of a mentor I had heard of earlier. Fast-forward to some hours later, I saw a tweet (on twitter - yeah obvs right? don't know why I still typed that 🤷‍♀️ mini perfectionist maybe? also while we're now on the topic, does this happen to you where you type the lowercase letter "i" in "i" or "i'm" when referring to yourself - and you keep going back to change it to uppercase "I"? Is that some sort of perfectionism too? I'm asking for a friend).

Ok back to the gist, so I saw a tweet somewhere captioned "Cooking for tomorrow #OSCAFEST2023, I hope system design is technical enough" which made me smile. So I made a mental note to go read the tweet later and when I opened the tweet, to my greatest surprise - Rising Odegua! It was a no-brainer to sharply open the tweet, open the profile, view other tweets, follow and engage, read comments, devour everything and consume contents on every other profile linked to the profile in one way or the other as much as possible.

Apparently that tweet DID NOT quote any tweet in particular but I thought it was very relatable to another tweet I had seen earlier, about some thoughts on how the oscafest talks line-ups were not technical enough. Oh well.
So what is the point of all this writing now? Me too I don't really know tbh.

I just know I'm typing away at my computer as a way to stress-release myself, because I've been up all the night reading for AltSchool's SOE first semester exam using one CSS Handbook for days now the book no wan finish. And I still have plentyyy LMS content from AltSchool on JavaScript and Data Structures which I'm yet to consume. Also got a tab open for coach @bahdcoder's Open Source webinar for which I'm still in Lesson 1 🤦‍♀️

Deep sigh. This too shall pass.

The struggle to become a proper software engineer, patiently starting from the Frontend is a hooge one, the harsh realities of which become clearer to me with every new day as I realize even more that all those 3–6 month bootcamps and short courses - no offence but they "lied" to us 😩. It really is a steep life-long learning curve, especially while combining it with the challenges of regular non-tech life (and living in Nigeria too? Omo.) Only those who take enough time to understand the right fundamentals and put in the work (with plentyyy reading like Setemi Ojo will say) while working their way up, can make it to the top and stay there, emphasis on stay there.

Anyway, here's to hoping this story will make it past my subtle imposter syndrome and actually get read by another human that is not me, in the nearest future.

If you actually read up to this point, thank you 🙏
I don't know how you do it but wow, you're just so amazing and for that I truly appreciate you ♥︎

Till my maybe next post, have a good time ahead, cheers.

*randomDeets: It took me 30mins to write this + another maybe 90mins to proofread and edit, making 2hours. I put on a timer after typing, to read the whole thing and see how long it would take and guess what - it took 3minutes 😊 Definitely not a perfectionist though. Cheers!

Top comments (0)