DEV Community

Cover image for Newbie coder  -  3min random gist3
Devsisi🚀
Devsisi🚀

Posted on

Newbie coder  -  3min random gist3

3:53am Thursday JUNE 22 WAT Lagos NG

It's the third article now omo can you believe that?!😄

I have you to thank, because you read the previous: first & second random gists! Some extra-amazing people even dropped a like or two *whoop! Whatabomshell😁 THANK YOU 🙏 #superGrateful.

So what are we writing about this time? You guessed, I don't know again 🤷‍♀️

I just know I'm typing away because the morale is high on this side.

First of all, I finished my AltSchoolAfrica First Semester Exam 4hours ago *happy dance - the preparation for which was the genesis of all this typing-away to begin with - and thankfully I aced it! 😭 Tears of joy and humbleness because...

That exam humbled me sha whattt? I went at it with so much afraidness mixed with tiredness after all my marathon overnight reading for daysss, consuming different resources not really knowing exactly what difficulty of questions to expect, especially after seeing different AltSchoolers' tales on Slack about how their own exams went.

Many said the questions were hard so I was just moping like haay chim oo while lowkey hoping for easier questions for my own because you know special child of God, Abba's delight, etc etc.

Also when I heard the time allotted was 2hours30mins, I was consoling myself saying relax joor, weytin you wan use 2hrs+ do, maybe 45mins to 1hour max, it can't be that bad.

So imagine my awe when I finally opened the questions and was seeing a lot of tricky questions like is this playing? Mr Setemi did not mention some of these covert angles in class o 😰 Upon all my reading, Abi is this Final Semester Exam instead of First?

Certain questions took me a full 5-10mins to really think through before selecting my answers 🥺 I was just sighing under my breath like God abeg, failure is not an option o, epp your child.

I scored 86% thankfully. Definitely desired a better score like 100% you know, along those lines. Something that would make hackSultan and the entire AltSchool Agba team be like WHO'S THAT GIRL??

(If you sang [LA LA LA LA] I don't know what to say to you 🤦‍♀️😄).

Anyway, I can't be grateful enough e get why.

One of the whys is too recent not to include here 👇

Immediately after the exam few minutes past midnight, one mind said share your score on twitter and tag AltSchool. Other mind was like why? attention-seeking much?

I started convincing myself of the many reasons why not to - it's midnight, everybody is asleep, people are scoring 90+ and you want to show off 86 👀 etc etc, subtle imposter syndrome stuff.

I sha made the screenshot first and stalled for another maybe 30mins, until I finally tweeted. I was about to sleep when Guess what? - JerryUke first liked it, then theCavyDev, then hackSultan???? then other people started liking oo, before I could blink "hackSultan retweeted your what??" I cleaned my eyes! I was flabbergasted 😄 and the twitter love that followed afterwards has been even more tremendous 👇

alert("hackSultan + AltSchool for the win 🎉")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Didn't know what words to say except THANK YOUUU 🙌

I actually can never be grateful enough that's just it, too many reasons.

console.log("I guess that's it on the random gist for now 😊")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If you actually read up to this point, thank you 🙏

I don't know how you do it but for real, you're just so amazing and for that I truly appreciate you ♥︎

Till my maybe next post, have a good time ahead, cheers.

*randomDeets:

  1. It took me 2hours to write this and 90mins to proofread.

  2. As is becoming the custom, I set a timer to see how long reading this would take and guess what - it took 3minutes 😊 Cheers!

Top comments (0)