DEV Community

Cover image for Have You Ever Gotten A Job through LinkedIn?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Have You Ever Gotten A Job through LinkedIn?

Have you ever successfully secured a job opportunity directly through LinkedIn? Share your experiences and insights on if and how LinkedIn has contributed to your career journey.


Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh • Edited

Well, let's just say LinkedIn has been my digital cupid for jobs. I swipe right on a job posting, send a message, and sometimes, they want to meet up for an interview!

It's like online dating, but instead of finding love, you find employment.

To sum it up, I haven't landed a job via LinkedIn.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

I work in Recruitment and you got it exactly right

LinkedIn really is Tinder, aka the Match Group monopoly

LinkedIn is not interested at all to do a good job for you specifically.
LinkedIn is only interested that it works on a macroeconomic level, so that it can keep its monopoly on the online job dating market

So yes you will find countless people job dating successfully on LinkedIn by the sheer virtue of LinkedIn scale.

But the higher amount of people for whom it doesn't work stay silent, because who wants to brag about being unsuccessful, right?

Now obviously when you have friends who found each other on tinder, you are happy for them and they think that it works. And from their perspective it did.

But it "works" by brute force only and i don't think that relying on pure luck is a great strategy for your career.

The good news is that if online (job) dating is frustrating to you, people have met each other successfully since a very long time without relying on the Match Group. And it's still possible

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

Indeed, i agre

Collapse
 
nyamitawiabelua profile image
Nyamitawia Belua • Edited

The "To sum it up comment has got me laughing".😂😂😂.

Collapse
 
anthonyyoussef01 profile image
Anthony Elkommos Youssef

lol

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

Every tech job I've ever had I've got from Linkedin.

Collapse
 
praneshchow profile image
Pranesh Chowdhury

Wow, That's great 😮

Collapse
 
bogomil profile image
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Yes. I couple!

Collapse
 
bellatrix profile image
Sakshi

YES, but not with EASY APPLY, I only got rejections from there sadly.
But I applied by sending email address I got from one linkedin post.

BTW curious to know if anyone has got job after applying from workday?

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

Speaking as a beginner, I haven't applied all that much (maybe 30), and trust me, I've never received a reply. Prioritizing platforms like Wellfound seems wise to me, given the quality of startups there. But I know people who secured jobs through LinkedIn. However, in my case, it didn't prove as a good choice when I am just starting out.
While my profile is decent enough, it seems other factors are involved or maybe I didn't want it bad enough.

By the way, I have noticed a few job descriptions where they expect us to know everything, it seems scary and the pay is also either hidden or not decent.

Collapse
 
bellatrix profile image
Sakshi

Hi anmol!

Agreed with your point, also I just saw your linkedin profile, and no doubts its really impressive. Lets connect

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

Sure, just drop a request and I would gladly accept :)

Collapse
 
quoll profile image
Paula Gearon

My current employer needed someone with a specific skillset, and searched for these skills on LinkedIn. When I came up, along with some of my related background, they cold-called me on LinkedIn and arranged an interview.

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

It's like someone said here: LinkedIn is like Tinder but for professionals. Create a good profile, show your attractiveness, do some swipes left and right, and play the waiting game between offers.

And, like Tinder, no one says "Yeah, I'm ugly, I don't bathe every day, my breath smells and after 2 hours of conversation we will stare at each other in silence as I am completely shallow on any subject". Everyone there is perfect, has good jobs, good bosses, etc. And, if they aren't employed, they are selling themselves and blaming something else when the offers don't come.

I've got some jobs on Tind...LINKEDIN, sometimes by indication. It's a good platform if you know how to behave. But don't expect to find the job of your life there, unless you do something that captivates your audience.

Collapse
 
weldhappy profile image
Weldhappy • Edited

⚜️test⚜️
2 Decades & 3 ProFiles later. LinkD.in/ never paid a dime, T'was a penny Tester.
Skibidi Sigma wit Dat Rizz! Nobody can stop the TokFace! Twisty.ai/
iSeek Jobs? try Lensa.com/ RepL.it/ itch.io/ hacKaday.io gd.gameS/ gDeVeLop.io/
⚜️test⚜️

Collapse
 
rogerwes profile image
Wesley Rogers

My last two positions have been from responding to a recruiter who reached out to me via LinkedIn.

Collapse
 
vivek09thakur profile image
Vivek Thakur

Yeah I found a job offer but ended up finding that they are fraud. Now I don't trust linkedin, It more like a place where people post AI generated images with AI generated caption and people reacting on it.

Collapse
 
keep_calm_and_code_on profile image
Alex Lau

I've been fortunate to have worked at a few companies and have grown my network in the process. Personally, if I'm ever looking for a job I much prefer to start with warm introductions: either looking at companies where I know someone who works there or at the very least trying to have a mutual connection introduce me to an employee - and LinkedIn has been crucial for this process. This has worked much better for me than attempting to do a cold application and hoping to win the "resume lottery."

Collapse
 
schalkneethling profile image
Schalk Neethling

Yup, my I found my current employer and the job posting on LinkedIn :)