DEV Community

Cover image for How Do You Restart Your Career After 55?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

How Do You Restart Your Career After 55?

Starting afresh in your career after 55 can be daunting. Share your strategies and experiences for a successful new beginning.


Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

This is something I'm attempting to do right now. I've just been following all the general advice. I don't see much out there specific to taking this journey at this age. I'll let you know how it works out. I'd love to hear from anyone else who's been there!

Collapse
 
idax profile image
Ironside Digital Assets
Collapse
 
idax profile image
Ironside Digital Assets

Hey there, I'm 45 and made a career change myself at 40. It's definitely a journey, and I'm still navigating it too. If finances are a concern, prioritize finding something reliable to bridge the gap. But if you have the flexibility, focus on discovering what truly fulfills you. Remember, your job doesn't define you โ€“ Fight Club might be cheesy, but that point resonates! Soul-searching, cheesy or not, has been invaluable on this path. It's not always easy with family, but feeling truly connected to work makes it all the more worth it. Wishing you the best of luck, mate! I hope things align beautifully for you.