DEV Community πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’»

Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

Lend your voice to an episode of the DevDiscuss podcast by telling us your WORST on-call horror story 😱

The DevDiscuss Podcast begins with an interview and ends with commentary from listeners β€” and we like to feature the actual voices from our community!

This week's prompt: "What’s your worst SRE/on-call horror story?"

For your chance to appear on an upcoming episode, answer the question above by:

  • Calling our Google Voice at +1 (929)500-1513 and leave a message πŸ“ž

  • Sending a voice memo to pod@dev.to πŸŽ™

  • OR, leaving a comment here (we'll read your response aloud for you) πŸ—£

Please send in your recordings by September 9th at 5 PM PT (8 PM ET, 12 AM UTC)


Don't forget to check out the latest episode, released on Wednesday!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
oraclesean profile image
Oracle Sean ♠️

Friday afternoon on Labor Day weekend, 2003-ish, getting ready to enjoy a long weekend getaway with my family, a tech in an adjacent cage at the CoLo spilled a Big Gulp into our SAN, wiping out 8 databases. It also shorted out the tape carousel. We borrowed a tape driveβ€”a manual unitβ€”and spent the weekend running restores, serially. I had it easy, all I had to do was sit at home and call the sysadmin to let him know when to switch the tapes. The sysadmin spent the weekend at the CoLo, wrapped in a blanket.

We finished around 4PM on Monday and I had just sat down on the couch and turned on the TV when my wife and kids got home... "Is this what you've been doing all weekend? Watching TV??"

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Oh my goodness!!

All DEV content is created by the community!

Hey, if you're landing here for the first time, you should know that this website is a global community of folks who blog about their experiences to help folks like you out.

Sign up now if you're curious. It's free!