DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week
Peter Kim Frank for The DEV Team

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.

Chiming into the What do you use for password management? thread, @youbicode talks about Bitwarden which seems to be getting great reviews:

I was not into password managers until I used Bitwarden. It's open source and works perfectly, chrome extension, app on Android/iOS. Saves me time and headache remembering passwords and secure notes.

@thebouv shares a meta "common mistake" in the The most common mistakes when using React article:

I'll add one more mistake:

Using React when you don't need it.

Replying to Am I an expert developer or just an expert googler?, @peledzohar talks about problem solving as a key component of this profession:

"You are not paid to write code, You are paid to solve problems"

Word to the wise.

Basically - 99% of the problems you have someone have already encountered before and uploaded a working solution to the internet. Find that solution and 90% of your problem is solved. the next 10% is only adapting the already working solution to fit your specific needs.

Of course, you can choose to go the hard way, but then you violate one of my personal top 3 favorite principles: DRTW - Don't Reinvent The Wheel.

Sharing an awesome achievement in the Brag Post thread, @ashvin777 talks about their project:

I am proud of creating JSitor, which is an alternative of JSFiddle, JSBin and CodePen.

I won't say that JSitor will be the best tool but definitely it is worth to explore. Give a try and share your feedback. I would love to hear from you guys.

Finally, @fdonati offers some actionable tips that they use to avoid procrastination in the What time of day do you get your best work done? thread:

For the timebeing I was able to overcome some procrastination though it comes and goes depending on the time of year, also I think some procrastination may be good. Mind you I suck at self control but this is what worked for me so far:

1) I blocked out all social media. I generated random passwords on all social media accounts and I did not save them. In this way I am not tempted to just have constant quick looks on useless posts. The steps to recover the passwords would make me snap out of it.

2) I like to read the news during the day. So I try to only do it for ~30 minutes when I get to the office and then at lunch time (sometimes I slip though).

3) I try to not think about the things I still have to do and I try to dedicate some time during the day to acknowledge the work I have done instead.

4) At the cost of boredom, I try to avoid having my laptop on most of the evenings in the working week. I know I suck at self control so sometimes I just leave my laptop in my office so I don't even have the option to cheat.

5) My phone is always on silent.Though I have the luxury of not having to work with clients.

6) But the most important thing of all, I stopped guilt-tripping myself for procrastinating. If I am procrastinating systematically there is a reason... I should solve that first if I want to stop doing it. Maybe I don't like a specific task I have to do, or maybe there are too many unknowns or skills I have to learn that it overwhelms me. Either way, if it happens - after the first moment of frustration - I try to stop what I am doing and reason on why I am procrastinating. Often identifying the cause is sufficient to make me stop procrastinate.

This is working pretty ok for me right now also because I throw some flexibility to the rules here and there.

See you next week for more great comments ✌

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Congrats to @youbicode , @thebouv , @peledzohar , @ashvin777 , and @fdonati for making the list this week!

Collapse
 
fdonati profile image
Franco Donati

Thanks!!

Collapse
 
ashvin777 profile image
Ashvin Kumar Suthar

Thanks, Peter for Covering ☺️

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled

Thanks!