DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.

To start off, @milmike gives some great recs on what to jam to while you code.

when I code and I know what I am doing I listen to fast paced music, I prefer music without vocals mostly I listen to fast Hardgroove Techno.

When I am thinking about a problem and trying to get a solution I listen to slower paced coding music (you can find them on youtube). Or just silence. As you mentioned noise cancelling headphones are good, even without any audio, just silence.

But once I have a solution or a specific todo, I go to turbo mode with techno ;)

@katieadamsdev weighs in with great insight on how difficult it can be to choose which JavaScript framework to learn.

Where my Vue devs at? All frameworks have their merit honestly; I'd say think about what core skills you really want to hone and pick a framework that will aid/reinforce those values. Personally, the lack of barrier to entry with Vue was a massive plus for me and to this day I'm yet to find something it can't do for me. I also think it'll give me a good basis to learn Angular at some point in the future. React is quite heavy on the JSX which, if you're not a fan of, might be a reason to give it a miss. However, it's very popular and common among lots of big companies, where there will be lots of good guidance and teamwork to support learning. Gatsby is one I want to learn desperately as GraphQL is something I'm keen on understanding and a framework that goes hand-in-hand with it seems like an opportunity. Smaller frameworks? I'm intrigued by EmberJS a lot. 🤔 There really is no right answer; framework choice is incredibly personal and will likely depend on the type of project you're wanting to work on. :3

This is a fantastic Win of the Week @phantas0s! Keep your eyes on my feed for the next round of wins tomorrow!

Happy Friday everyone!

Sometimes, knowing the path ahead can be tricky, but @dastasoft provides some great React tips to help us see a clear road ahead.

I would add as optional but highly recommended, knowing the principles of Clean Code and some understanding of how to apply a correct architecture to your project, in front-end we tend to hardcode more things like putting routes or literals directly in place instead of doing enums.

React is also about being clean and tidy :)

@raphael_jambalos lends knowledge and expertise in this post about choosing a programming language for the first time! Spoiler alert: in their opinion, Python is the way to go 🐍

I'll start with Python because of its versatility. It can be used in

  • web development
  • data science
  • scripting
  • etc

It's also easy to learn and will help you get started with the OOP concepts quicker.

</div>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode


See you next week for more great comments ✌

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Thanks for these awesome comments @milmike , @katieadamsdev , @phantas0s , @dastasoft , and @raphael_jambalos !

Collapse
 
raphael_jambalos profile image
Raphael Jambalos

Thanks for this as well, Gracie! :D Delighted to be part of the dev.to community!

Collapse
 
katieadamsdev profile image
Katie Adams

Honoured to be included! 😁