DEV Community

Cover image for Welcome Thread - v269

Welcome Thread - v269

A dolphin swimming towards you with the text "Hey"


  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

  3. Share your wins from this week in our weekly "What was your win this week? thread.

Top comments (213)

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Hey everyone,

I just wanted to take a moment to express my heartfelt gratitude for the warm welcome I've received.I'm Chandana from India, a junior software engineer @Fluentgrid Limited. Currently, I'm diving into the world of Angular and Leaflet.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Welcome Chandana! Good to have you with us. 😀

https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/articles/utux8714i9tmjovteio9.gif

Collapse
 
bartcctv profile image
bartcctv

Hello

Thread Thread
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Heyyya...🌝

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you so much....🌝

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

You are very welcome!

Collapse
 
ibrahimraimi profile image
Ibrahim Raimi

Welcome to Dev.to, Chandana! It's great to have you aboard. Angular and Leaflet are exciting technologies to explore, and I'm sure you'll make some amazing contributions. If you ever need assistance navigating around Dev.to or have any questions, feel free to reach out :)

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Yes for sure, and thank you very much...looking forward for your assistance..☺️

Collapse
 
_michellemello profile image
Michelle Mello

Welcome!!

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you...☺️

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Hello, Chandara! We love to keep this community safe and welcome to everybody. I hope you enjoy and find a lot of interesting people and projects!

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Sure, thank you...☺️

Collapse
 
mattryanmtl profile image
Matt Ryan

Welcome! You'll love Leaflet, so many fun projects.

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you...and yes leaflet is so fun to work with.

Collapse
 
helplanes profile image
Krish Bhagwat

Heyya Chandana,

I'm Krish, also from India. It's great to have you here on Dev.to😀.
I'm a student who just completed my 12th grade, and currently exploring Java, JS as well as DSA.

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Hiii..Good to hear...☺️...hope you progess day-by-day...

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you...☺️

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Niceeeeeeeee. Welcome!

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you

Collapse
 
mike_bowman profile image
Mike

Welcome Chandana! ^_^

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you...☺️

Collapse
 
yowise profile image
a.infosecflavour

Welcome!!

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you...☺️

Collapse
 
tehael profile image
tehael

Hey there. I'm a full stack web developer from Germany. Technologies I use at my current day job range from Terraform, Kubernetes, Docker, etc via server-/client-side Typescript to React, CSS-in-JS, Tailwind, etc.
I am in the industry for a log time already. Anyone else's remembering building layouts with HTML tables? 🙈
Languages and technologies used over my whole career are pretty plentiful.
So, see you around ✌️

Collapse
 
ibrahimraimi profile image
Ibrahim Raimi

Welcome to Dev.to! Your journey and expertise sound impressive. From HTML tables to modern tech stacks like Terraform and Kubernetes, it's clear you've seen the evolution of web development firsthand. Your insights and experience will surely enrich the community. Looking forward to seeing your contributions! ✌️

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Welcome tehael! 👋

It's great to have you in the DEV community.

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Hello, @tehael ! It's great to have you in this community, please, stay sharing your experiences with us!

Collapse
 
dalejenny profile image
dalejenny

I'm very interested in the technologies you're good at, and it's nice to meet someone with similar hobbies.

Collapse
 
iamspathan profile image
Sohail Pathan

Welcome New Devs 👋

This is Sohail Pathan - I'm currently dev advocate @ ApyHub

My expertise lies in working with APIs and help developers with anything related to API :)

I'm here to learn from you - share my leanings as well. You can connect with me @iamspathan [ Twitter/LinkedIn]

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hello! Nice to have you here! 👏

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Hi, Sohail. Glad to have you here. Looking forward to learning a lot from you!

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Welcome, @iamspathan! It's great to meet you!
Please, share your experiences with us and also check our DEV Challenges!

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara

Thank you 😊

Collapse
 
yowise profile image
a.infosecflavour

Hello!!

Collapse
 
jyoti6534 profile image
Jyoti Singh

Hello,

Myself Jyoti Singh and working as a Frontend developer with technical expertise of React Js and core JS . I belong from Pune, India.

Hoping to gain knowledge from the techies.

Thank You.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Welcome to DEV, Jyoti! My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager here. It's great to meet ya! 🙌

Collapse
 
mattryanmtl profile image
Matt Ryan

Welcome aboard! 🚀

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hello! 👏

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Welcome, Jyoti! I'm sure you are going to find a lot of things to learn here

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Welcome!

Collapse
 
blunixgmbh profile image
Blunix GmbH

Hi dev.to!

I am new here and like it better than facebook so far ;) I am not a fan of social media but I am looking to grow my Linux Consulting company and my SEO guy said "go do social media". Its nice that there is a social media platform with content thats actually interesting to me ;)
Are there no groups here about "Linux" or similar? How does this work here?

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Hello, @blunixgmbh! What a great reason to look for social media! We have our #linux where it's possible to find articles, tag moderators, and suggested accounts.
Also, I'd like to add I'm on my very first steps with Linux and I'm loving it!

Collapse
 
blunixgmbh profile image
Blunix GmbH

Also why does get everything I post automatically one like right away?

Collapse
 
pixi3mama profile image
Abdiel Jayne

lol, I don't know but, it says you posted 30 min ago, and I just logged on and your post was 3rd in my feed.

Thread Thread
 
blunixgmbh profile image
Blunix GmbH

smooth. I'm famous now. How unexpected x)

Thread Thread
 
pixi3mama profile image
Abdiel Jayne

I'm reminded, "To the world, you might just be one person, but to one person you might be the world." :D

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

I've always questioned this too...

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis • Edited

Not really groups but you can follow hashtags like #linux and the see that people that write about Linux.

dev.to/help/customizing-your-feed

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome welcome!

Please introduce yourself 😊

Collapse
 
lihanghang profile image
Hang Hang Li

My english name is Mason, I am a software engineer from Beijing, China. I mainly use Python, Java, Shell programs, etc. Hope to exchange technology with everyone.
Thank you everyone!

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Hello, @lihanghang ! I'm sure you're going to find so many interesting things here!

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hey! 🙋 Great to have you here! 🙏

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Hey, Mason! Good to have you here.

Collapse
 
mattryanmtl profile image
Matt Ryan

Hello and welcome! 🎉

Collapse
 
bigman profile image
Riches

Hello there Ben

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Hey!

Collapse
 
lihanghang profile image
Hang Hang Li

thank you!

Collapse
 
chandana_147 profile image
Chandana Kakara • Edited

Thank you 😊

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey folks!

Welcome to DEV. 🙌

Quick tip: you can create comment templates which you can set up for responses that you use frequently. For instance, I have a number of quick tips which I've set up as comment templates so that I can regularly drop them into these welcome threads and this is one of them. 😉

To set your templates up, just navigate over to /settings/extensions and follow the instructions under the heading Comment templates.

To use your templates, you'll need to click into the comment input box, click the ... menu, and click the icon that looks a bit like a book. You'll then see all your available responses.

Here's a post with more info on this feature:

If you have any questions about this feature or anything else, don't hesitate to hit me up. I'm happy to help!

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

This is so useful! I love it!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooty woot! Thank ya Thaísa — glad you're digging this one! 🙌

Collapse
 
neostark profile image
Fran González

Hello everybody!

I'm Fran from Andalucia, Spain. Currently, I work as a front-end developer. I came here to learn and share knowledge with the DEV community 😊

Collapse
 
mattryanmtl profile image
Matt Ryan

Hello and a warm welcome!

Collapse
 
boomboompower profile image
boomboompower

Nice to meet you 😁
What frameworks do you usually like to work with?

Collapse
 
michealtheratz profile image
michealtheratz

Hey

I am an annoying 14 year old from capitalism land (The US) and I am currently interested in front end dev. I also like to do game development. I am working on blipsy, a simple program for making simple games.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Welcome Michael! Hope ya dig being part of the community here. 🙌

Collapse
 
anonymous_0936 profile image
Anonymous_0936

Hello everyone, I just stumbled upon this community ," on time you can say " as I don't know let's say anything much about tech
Just gave my 12th exams and will go for btech in cse.
I want to start in 1st year itself but don't know where and which language to start

Current plan is to learn css, html then Java script then c and c ++

Any advice for this junior ???

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo!

You've come to the right place. My main advice for ya is to check out the #beginners tag here on DEV for relevant posts to ya!

Glad to have ya with us and hope you enjoy the community!

Collapse
 
kissmypixel profile image
ThatWokenONE

Hello My name is Evin. I am not software engineer. Codes worlds are always beside followed my original professions but since open source has been so much developed this world space universe... times arrived I must also be involved a bit so thank you advanced be passion with me...

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hello! Great to have you here! 👏

Collapse
 
kissmypixel profile image
ThatWokenONE • Edited

Ohh ‘Hello’ 👋
you know me then ;) 😂

Collapse
 
nangegao profile image
NangeGao • Edited

Hey!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo! 👋

Collapse
 
alam-netdevops profile image
Alam

Heya. I'm Alam
I work as Network engineer. Love coding.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Alam! Good to have ya with us on DEV. My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager here. Feel free to hit me up if you have any questions about DEV!

Collapse
 
alam-netdevops profile image
Alam

Thank you

Collapse
 
kishan234 profile image
Kishan Kumar

Hey everyone,
I just want to thanks dev.to for welcoming me on this platform
I did my Btech(cse) from Annamalai University
Right now I am CEO of the Kimi Software Pvt Ltd

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen 💜

Hello there! Welcome, welcome to DEV! I hope you will like it here.

Collapse
 
kishan234 profile image
Kishan Kumar

I need investor for my startup

Collapse
 
nilialu profile image
Lievin Niyoyandika

Hello Dev community,

I am Lievin Niyoyandika from Burundi. a junior fullstruck develop, Data analyst, UI/UX designer. Currently I am working on working react js and node js projects to improve my skills.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.