DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Discovering some great new music... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Have a wonderful weekend!

Cats partying

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

I do have kind of a persosnal win. About an hour ago I wrote an article on dev.to about my first accessibility check on a website. The goal would be to now reach out to the owner of the website and the company actually applies these changes and therefore helping to make the web more accessible.

The feeling while doing this a11y check.. It felt so fulfilling, like, doing the right thing, doing actually something good. 💜

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Congratulations 🎉

Collapse
 
dennistobar profile image
Dennis Tobar

I've reached 500 reads in dev.to: not a great win, but enough to be my first milestone :)

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

Nice, Dennis 🙌

Collapse
 
dennistobar profile image
Dennis Tobar

Thanks!
I'm creating posts in my mother language (Spanish), and I see a pretty hard to reach others in Spanish here... but I'm trying: I'm the Spanish tag moderator, and I see around 20 posts/week in Spanish.

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

That's wonderful 😍

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

We launched or own cli to send SMS :

...

and had a lof fun with it

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

We got another dedicated user on our twigflo.com application who shared with us "I'm telling everyone I can, I'm a believer" -- so we feel really good about that. It's not the kind of application people understand right away, it is designed to shift mindsets -- so every excited user feels really good to us.

Collapse
 
burtds profile image
Bert De Swaef

I finally found the time to record video's for my Youtube Channel. In total I was able to create 6 video's and they are all scheduled for the coming weeks.
Stay tuned -> youtube.com/c/CodewithBurt

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Our team figured out automatic compilations and deployments of automatically generated Angular data grid frontends. Into a CDN network, delivering product in 0.8 seconds. The 15th of August my team is changing the face of the Earth 😊😎💪

Collapse
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips

I was finally able to solidify a Performance tool at work. Our platform is pretty solid and scalability is fairly well understood. When we have issues though the PE testing gets to be more specific.

Our test framework operates at the API layer and creates mocks for third party connection. This is perfect to covering different situations and Test stability/speed.

But Jmeter and other PE tools don't really expect to also manage mock while running.

So I wrote one a while back that used all the existing test tools. This week I was able to make the PE leavers customizabe, including the ability to delay and mocked endpoint.

This was extremely valuable to run many different scenarios over night.

Collapse
 
samhk2222 profile image
samhk222

I did my first english interview in a company (ingenious) and I think that it was very good and I would Love to work there

Collapse
 
bugmagnet profile image
Bruce Axtens

Getting the COBOL track going on Exercism. It was more "our" win than "my" win. Without the team it simply would not have happened.

Collapse
 
kerojin profile image
KeepStraightUp

I complete 10 sub-tasks in this week and I found that I'm used to my new work

Collapse
 
shafiqa89595414 profile image
Shafiq Ahmad

I totally agreed with your answer my problem is solved. I am very happy. For more information see here dev.to/devteam/what-was-your-win-t...-results

Collapse
 
shutoosawa profile image
Shuto Osawa

Started to learn about CI! I was always curious about it, but I have never really looked into it before. Finally decided to make the first move.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I am mainly a backend dev / DevOps engineer and this week I built my first React app :D

Collapse
 
techmaniacc profile image
Joseph Mania

getting over 50,000 readers since i started writing

Collapse
 
ash_bergs profile image
Ash

I had a really great team interview! 😁