DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Happy Friday!

Looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Landing a new job
  • Trying out a new cooking recipe ... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Happy Friday!

Oh yeah!

Top comments (40)

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

I landed a new job after 4 months of job hunting

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Congrats well done!

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

thank you

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Congratulations!!

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Thank you

Collapse
 
dawntraoz profile image
Alba Silvente Fuentes

Starting as a Senior FrontEnd Consultant in a company I dreamed of working with 😱

Now it's a reality and I'm part of the Passionate People family 🤯 Looking forward to the next weeks and the projects I'll be helping 😍🚀

Collapse
 
mauro_codes profile image
Mauro Garcia

I made it to the top 7 on DEV for the first time with my article about switching to Linux 🥳

Collapse
 
lornasw93 profile image
Lorna Watson

✨ Signed up to be a mentor! Super proud, never thought I’d have the confidence to do so. ✨ I’ve also signed up to numerous women in tech communities to get involved with. ✨

Collapse
 
gotcha007 profile image
Gotcha007

Just finished this morning a project at work that took me roughly a year to complete!
Also started a new project to build your own portable Wifi / ethernet access point with DNS blocker and e-ink screen to control it. Pretty proud, will share the project very soon over here

Collapse
 
thtmnisamnstr profile image
Gavin

I wrote my first serverless function.

Collapse
 
shhdharmen profile image
Dharmen Shah

I created a small side project:

GitHub logo shhdharmen / github-link

⚓ Get links to code in your GitHub files based on text, and forget the line numbers!

GitHub Link

GitHub Link

Get links for your GitHub files based on text, and forget the line numbers!

All Contributors

Why GitHub Link?

In Short

We usually create link-to-code to point our readers, users or developers to the exact code. But such links are created based on line-number and if you're updating the file regularly, those links will not point to correct line or you will need to keep updating your links. GitHub Link helps you to get the right link-to-code, based on text you give, so that it always points to contextually right definition. Jump to usage

In Long

We generally create permanent link to code snippet. As they are for specific commit, they work great when referred in issues/PRs.

But what if you want to give such links in your README or such files? Like you have already defined a coded file with proper comments and you want to give link to…




Collapse
 
sheikhrashed profile image
Sheikh Rashed

great

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden • Edited

Opened up some new job opportunities because of articles I wrote.

Collapse
 
phantas0s profile image
Matthieu Cneude • Edited

It has been one month since I've released my book Building Your Mouseless Development Environment which explains how to install Arch Linux, i3, Zsh, Neovim, and tmux.

... and I've reached 300 buyers today! Even crazier: nobody asked for a refund, and all feedback were super positive. This is a huge, massive, crazy win for me 🥰

Collapse
 
oranges13 profile image
Elanor

This was my first official week as a manager in my new position and though it was extremely busy I completed most of my goals and even got in some professional development! I managed to write a blog post about Statamic in my free time one evening as well!

Collapse
 
persimone profile image
Simone

At work (relatively new job, 3 months in) I set up a live environment for a customer. My first time doing that. But what I am most proud of is 'cleaning up' the git repo all by myself before I deployed the master branch to live. I merged everything into develop and merged that into master. Up untill last week I really felt like I would never really understand Git and all this abstract stuff (where is it going when I push? And other questions), but now.. it seems like I do 🤗🥳

Collapse
 
roylarsen profile image
Roy Larsen

Figured out how to do non-public Azure Container Registries through only using Private Endpoints.

Also figured out Flux v2 and updated one of our Terraform modules to bootstrap an AKS with it. V excited.

Collapse
 
cmuralisree profile image
Chittoji Murali Sree Krishna • Edited

This week I've started frontend mentor challenges,
The challenge is really way good for beginner.

If you guys have any basic challenges in other languages I will be happy to participate to gain some knowledge from it

Collapse
 
kartik987 profile image
Kartik Arora

My First experience with docker 😍

Collapse
 
tankerguy1917 profile image
tankerguy1917

My win just happened. I was able to get the movement of a mouse collider box to move at the same speed and distance if you change the size of the screen.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.