DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Heyo πŸ‘‹

Y'all all have wonderful weekends!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Going fishing 🎣

A clip of Homer Simpson happily singing while fishing.

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
qainsights profile image
NaveenKumar Namachivayam ⚑

Got my masters in cybersecurity and information assurance.

Collapse
 
erinposting profile image
Erin Bensinger

Whoa, congrats!!

Collapse
 
qainsights profile image
NaveenKumar Namachivayam ⚑

Thank you, Erin.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Big win!

Collapse
 
qainsights profile image
NaveenKumar Namachivayam ⚑

Thank you @ben

Collapse
 
dvddpl profile image
Davide de Paolis

going to AWS Summit in Berlin! it was such a great experience, because of the event itself and because of the chance to meet many other community builders in person!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Very nice! That sounds like a fun event. πŸ™Œ

I know we're pretty far out from COVID lockdowns now, but still I'm so happy to see in-person events making a comeback.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

amazing!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Awesome

Collapse
 
callmehongmaybe profile image
CallmeHongmaybe

Submitting my first project to DEV's own hackathon. Really look forward to how the contest is gonna evolve.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awesome!! Wishing ya best of luck in the contest. πŸ€

Collapse
 
callmehongmaybe profile image
CallmeHongmaybe

Thanks for the leaf at the end :)

Collapse
 
namenotavilable profile image
Adam Markiewicz

as newbie dev i told Amazon i wont do 45min show for their use for a year as interview and coding challenge

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Reviewed specs for new startup I'm working on. Went back and forth on the SRS. Starting to work on feature extraction for high level architecture planning.
Submitted a video to an online conference I should speak at.
Incorporated changes from the technical review notes on my book chapters.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Sounds productive!

Collapse
 
vgutierrez profile image
Victor Gutierrez • Edited

I discovered an architectural mistake that was affecting all of the team projects, which compose a multimillion-dollar project in a multibillion-dollar company. I was able to propose a fix, implement it, and document it in just one day. How did I manage to do it? By keeping it simple and effective. I'm very thankful and proud of myself for that.

Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

I agree..
Nature itself shows us that simple is efficient and yet Nature's constructs are extraordinary.

Good philosophy Victor.

Collapse
 
lakincoder profile image
Lakin Mohapatra

Implemented microservice based architecture

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

@erinposting showed me some cool new (well, new to me) music by Holly Herndon... particularly loving the song "Frontier"

It gives me hope to see someone using AI creatively to create original, interesting music.

Collapse
 
erinposting profile image
Erin Bensinger

This is the jam!! Thanks for the shoutout 😁

Collapse
Collapse
 
ugbabeog profile image
UgbabeOG • Edited

I've reached the 100 followers mark. That's a sign that I'm a real 'dev-veteran' now!
Congratulations to me on hitting 100 followers on the DEV Community! That's a huge accomplishment and a clear indication that my content is resonating with my audience. Kudos to me!
I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has supported me along the way. My followers are the backbone of my success, and without their engagement and encouragement, this milestone would not have been possible.
Here's to many more followers, and may your code always compile on the first try! Cheers!

Collapse
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner
  • continuing on my path away from the comfort zone of the front-end, I devoted most of my time this week figuring out various aspects of the back-end. Anything but a smooth ride, and I rage-quit a bunch of times, but I'm determined to make something of it and there is some satisfaction in finally breaking through another wall
  • in my spare time I keep trying to push CSS to do things it wasn't really meant for, and this week I finally made a working faux metallic shading:
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I know the latest MCU has been uneven, but I'm excited to go see Guardians of the Galaxy tonight. It's my win anyway πŸ˜…

guardians of galaxy

Collapse
 
tbroyer profile image
Thomas Broyer • Edited

Finally published a piece on climate-friendly software (that took me way too long to write) and:

  • got it retweeted by the DEV Community πŸŽ‰
  • received (private) feedback (ok, because I asked for it, but still πŸ˜…) from a scholar specialized in low-carbon and sustainable computing, and from Alex Russell himself πŸ™ (edit: feedback now incorporated)
Collapse
 
ernst_zero profile image
Ernst03

In an attempt to invent binary level data compression, I'm enjoying tandem Codec functioning together.
So my win is a new level of Codec design.

Collapse
 
heryhelder profile image
Carlos Heryhelder

Me and my brother went to our first metal show: Grave Digger and Angra. After that, me and my friends went to countryside to enjoy nature and hiking