DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey my peeps 👋

Hope that everybody has a wonderful weekend. 😀

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Spending time outside 🥾🌻

A cartoon man dressed in lederhosen hikes up a mountain with walking sticks in each hand.


Did you know we feature wins in our "Wins of the Week" email every Friday? Subscribe to our weekly newsletter emails to get wins delivered right to your inbox! 💌

Top comments (40)

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick • Edited

Hey y'all! Seeking some inspiration to share your wins? Check out these highlights from last week's thread: @juandadev secured a new job; @thormeier rocked impactful tech outreach, introducing 14 girls to software development; and @adhirajk wowed us with some stellar blogging. And a special shoutout to @nombrekeff for an amazing coding comeback—overcoming challenges and sharing mental health insights.

These achievements will also be featured in our Weekly Wins newsletter, which goes out every Friday. We love cheering you on and getting inspired. Thank you so much for being such an integral part of the DEV community. ❤️

Collapse
 
thormeier profile image
Pascal Thormeier

Thank you for the shoutout! :D

Collapse
 
adhirajk profile image
Adhiraj Kinlekar

Hey @erina_olinick_8195c361b0, thank you for the shoutout

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I built a lot of the AI code in Semantic Kernel for my workshop in January and a conference talk I'm giving in early December. I've got my own little mini-Bat Computer at this point.

Bat Computer

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

LEGO Batman saying "hey Puter, I'm home"

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

i see a Dark Knight theme building for this week b

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆ • Edited

📰 I published a post on the DEV community ✨

💟 I got the Top Discussion of the Week badge, the 2 Week Community Wellness Streak badge & the Warm Welcome badge! ✨

🔦 My latest post received a mention in Discussion of the Week - v11 , read it here! & in the Trending Discussions section in the DEV Community Newsletter! ✨

✴️ I have been granted the Trusted Member role on DEV! ✨

👥 The follower count on my DEV profile has exceeded 900 followers! ✨

💻 I managed to make the letter "A" appear and move around on the in-game game console I recently unlocked in the programming puzzle game, EXAPUNKS! ✨
The in-game game console from the programming game, EXAPUNKS

🎮 I finally joined the closed beta for a new app which I have been looking forward to test out! ✨

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

That little Redshift gizmo looks so dope. 🔥

Thanks again for sharing that awesome discussion post and just for being such a positive force across the community, Anita. Happy to have your help as a Trusted Member! 🙌

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Thanks, I love it! 😊

Thank you, I am happy to be a part of the community! 😃

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins
Collapse
 
dbxdev profile image
dbxDev

After reading for a while, I had created a Dev.to account and started writing my journey 👋🏻

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooohooo! Awesome to have ya with us here. 🙌

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

Mind I ask what is your profile picture? I have seen multiple users with the same style of picture, just wondering.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Good question, Lev. I believe those animal photos are our generic profile pics for folks who haven't yet set their pic. Some folks choose not to set one but we need to put something in there, so that's what that's all about!

Thread Thread
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

Thanks for clarifying! My mind slowly slipped into wild places about hacker groups and bot networks, haha. Glad to know these are just default photos. 😅

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Haha! All good, Lev. 😄

To your point, spammers/bots/hackers do occasionally join DEV, and frequently they'll just have one of our default pics. I think it's because often they're moving quickly and creating throwaway accounts, most of the time to drop backlinks to some shady place on the internet. And they do this, every. freaking. day. 😱😂

Luckily, we got mods and various procedures that are helping us to regularly remove these accounts.

In any case, I think our new friend dbx is good people. They shared a cool, helpful post earlier this week, so we can let our digital guard down. 🙂

Collapse
 
dbxdev profile image
dbxDev

Ya @michaeltharrington right, @lnahrf I will update it soon.

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

spend the last week learning and created a Product Comparision which was much appreciated and featured in couple of technology weekly new letter...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Sweet comparison! Appreciate ya sharing your post.

Also, in case you didn't know, you can embed your posts here in comments like so:

I did so with the following syntax:

{% embed https://dev.to/balagmadhu/a-tale-of-two-heroes-azure-form-recognizer-vs-ai-builder-18dm %}

Anywho, just wanted to share that little nugget of info with ya in case it's helpful in the future. 🙂

Hope ya keep sharing cool content like this and enjoy your weekend!

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

appreciate the super cool tip y

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

That is incredible, well done! ✨

Collapse
 
phlash profile image
Phil Ashby

I suspect I've spent much too long reading Java internals manuals in order to re-implement the appletviewer (remember that?), on top of my existing re-implementation of the Swing GUI library

All this just so I can run a #retrocomputing emulator of the Texas Instruments TI-59 calculator I found: git.sr.ht/~phlash/appletviewer

You: Phil, you're mad and nerdy!
Me: ....yeah, you got me.

Collapse
 
afrozansenjuti profile image
Afroza Nowshin

Writing this and getting featured🫠

dev.to/afrozansenjuti/how-to-predi...

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆ • Edited

That looks like an amazing project you made there! ✨

Collapse
 
afrozansenjuti profile image
Afroza Nowshin

Thank you 😊 👍

Collapse
 
badsector998 profile image
DadangRokes
  • Started to ditch my anxiety.
  • Started to try to engage in community and try being part of it. Hopefully I can be real contributor to an open-source project. Although, still looking for a fitting open-source project for me. Looking here and there and browse GitHub on daily basis has been started.
  • Familiarize myself with bigquery and firestore GCP API SDK and started adding new feature from scratch.
  • Started to learn the real stuff instead of jumping from one tutorial to another.

these look like a win for me already.. cheers

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I've reached a milestone with the app I'm writing; all the features I planned for the MVP are working. I just need to add a settings page so other people can use it, since the user-specific details are still hardwired specifically for my own use.

Collapse
 
tylerlwsmith profile image
Tyler Smith

I started learning Go.

I've been curious about Go for maybe two years. I recently decided that I'm not interested in pursuing Django (using for 2 years) or Rails (using for a year) anymore, so it seemed like a good time to pick up a new language.

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

I was able to create an AI-based CRM system in 5 minutes using Magic :)

Note, to be specific, I was able to figure out how to create a process that allows everybody to do it ...

Collapse
 
iamspathan profile image
Sohail Pathan

spent last week in research and did publish a blog :)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕
  • Started a new project for my client with Nuxt 💚
  • Listened mooore music's
  • Have some calls for professional projects (really appreciate that)
  • Streamed with a friend
Collapse
 
adhirajk profile image
Adhiraj Kinlekar
  1. Published my lengthiest blog yet. git-essentials-a-pragmatic-approac...
  2. Drafted two other posts.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.