DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Happy Friday!

Looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Landing a new job
  • Making a list of awesome New Year's resolutions... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

P.S. Refusing to make New Year's resolutions is totally cool, too.

AND for those of you who recognize the new year in a different month (i.e. a HUGE portion of the world,) thanks for bearing with all of this irrelevant New Year's content that's surely bombarding you 😂

Have a great weekend!

Home Alone New Year

Top comments (30)

Collapse
 
ziizium profile image
Habdul Hazeez

I made it to 2021.

Collapse
 
dramaticbean profile image
DramaticBean🇵🇹

Same

Collapse
 
maulik profile image
Maulik

It's not my win but I had a holiday today so I visited my father's shop to help him. I saw stray goats were roaming wearing tshirt.

I thought who and why someone does that. So I asked and found that people are putting own old tshirts on goats so that these stray animals can stay warm in winter. This noble act of selflessness made my day

Collapse
 
shhdharmen profile image
Dharmen Shah
Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Good work! 💯

Collapse
 
shhdharmen profile image
Dharmen Shah

Thanks... 😊

Collapse
 
lostgirljourney profile image
Falguni Sarkar

This is beautiful 💕

Collapse
 
shhdharmen profile image
Dharmen Shah

Thanks a lot... 😊

Collapse
 
dawntraoz profile image
Alba Silvente Fuentes

Hahahahahahahahaha well I made the 2020 in review 😂

But I have also decorated my tree with party assets 🤣🤣🤣

Collapse
 
destro_mas profile image
Shahjada Talukdar • Edited

Started a Series on Docker on my YouTube channel.

Published PART-3 and 4 this week. 🔥

Here is the Playlist- youtube.com/watch?v=N6pO24XVSVo&li...

Collapse
 
thomasthespacefox profile image
Thomas Leathers

I added Balanced Septemvigesimal (Base 27) and Balanced Nonary support to arguments in SBTCVM's assembly language.

Context:

  • SBTCVM is a Balanced ternary virtual machine. aka it uses +1, 0, and -1, unlike binary.
  • Balanced Septemvigesimal & Balanced Nonary serve nearly the same purpose as Octal & Hexadecimal Do for binary.

What i learned: Working with custom notations of obscure non-standard base numbers, is even harder when there's 27 different digits involved...

got it working though, so id call that a win...

Collapse
 
nokol profile image
Nokol • Edited

I learned many thing on dev.to

I got a Dev.to shirt(cause I participated on the hackathon successfully 😊)

I got a new dev job (moved from small company to big)

I working on my friends online. Come on add me 😁

Collapse
 
zimlearn profile image
Dr Abstract

I worked out how to fill connected lines with ZIM Generator() - it fills only shapes but not connected lines - so I used the points of where the lines were going to fill a traditional ZIM Shape and it worked! codepen.io/zimjs/pen/jOMZjOy - woot!

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Inbox Zero no references of 2020 left.

Collapse
 
sandordargo profile image
Sandor Dargo

I progressed a lot with my #dohackathon project. I cleaned up the UI and the code and I even added some new stats.

Collapse
 
gulshansaini profile image
Gulshan Saini

Not sure if I can submit in middle of week.

Anyways I am gonna say "I finally launched my Youtube channel". I was always afraid of hitting that record button(may be I was having fear of failing in public or I was mostly concerned about right tools like camera, audio system etc...)

I started with the topics I am comfortable with i.e. ReactJS. I have planned full MERN development series starting this week itself. Right now I am posting one video daily not sure, if I would be able to keep that momentum in long run to maintain quality.

If you are reading this post and interested in full stack development you might want to checkout my channel youtube.com/c/gulshansaini

Please subscribe to the channel if you find the tutorials useful.

Collapse
 
samos123 profile image
Sam Stoelinga

Win: I added ability to test your website speed from multiple locations to websu.io (#opensource project to run lighthouse as a service)

Collapse
 
sagar profile image
Sagar

I published my blog after a long break. dev.to/sagar/how-to-capture-screen...

Collapse
 
randomjkbn profile image
random

started my first internship!

Collapse
 
pontakornth profile image
Pontakorn Paesaeng

I learned 11ty and be able to generate data by myself. While I don't consider migrating my personal site, I might use 11ty for next static site project.