DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Happy Friday!

Looking back on your week β€” what was something you're proud of?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your desk... or whatever else might spark joy 😊

Have a great weekend!

Toast!

Top comments (39)

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Accepted a new job - starting in January!

Collapse
 
isarisariver profile image
Marian

Congrats!

Collapse
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

Completely rebuild my blog with nuxtjs + vuetify (best combo!).
Had so much fun doing it, learned a lot and it looks dope now. Before this, I had bought a Gatsby-based theme from themeforest but I wasn't happy with it because even though I know how to code it was difficult for me to extend it. Now everything is under my control and I can work on the blog as I like.

So happy :)

Collapse
 
dawntraoz profile image
Alba Silvente Fuentes

Nice tech stack!! Congrats 🀩

Collapse
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

Thanks, Alba, yeah it rocks :)

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

This week, I developed and launched my first React project. It's a photo blog which is integrated with ButterCMS. I also learned that the environment variables in reactjs should start as REACT_APP_ENV_VAR. It took me a while to realize it lol

Collapse
 
kaboumk profile image
kaboumk

Nice!
Isn’t butterCMS a bit expensive?

Collapse
 
enchance profile image
enchance

I didn't know this other. Thanks.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

What's the other?

Thread Thread
 
enchance profile image
enchance

I meant to say "either." My mobile keyboard is the god of text changes apparently.

Thread Thread
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

I know that feeling.

Collapse
 
sjarva profile image
Senja Jarva

Submitting a speech to an international tech conference! 🀩 This is my first time ever submitting, so it's a really big win for me! πŸ₯³β€οΈ

Collapse
 
nishants profile image
Nishant Singh

Best of luck Senja πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
ruannawrites profile image
Ruanna

Wow, congratulations! Great job!

Collapse
 
ruannawrites profile image
Ruanna • Edited

Having a great video chat with someone I met at LTX Fest (Latinx in Tech conference)! I've been putting more effort into networking with other women in tech and sharing things I've learned that have helped me throughout my career change and it feels really good! :) It's hard to feel connected during this time, and this conversation we had really uplifted my spirits and gave me an extra boost of motivation and inspiration.

Collapse
 
sjarva profile image
Senja Jarva

Yay! So glad to hear that the connectedness of the conference itself is continuing in the form of private chats and more networking! πŸ‘©πŸ½β€πŸ’»β€οΈπŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’»

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I built a bunch of furniture with those tiny little Allen wrenches and my fingers are a bit sore, but it's over, thankfully it's over.

Speaking of things thankfully being over... I'm pretty dang siked about the US election results. πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen

I completed two refactors with benefits to user experience, performance, code readability, and testing. All that good stuff. A nice change of pace after mostly focusing on maintenance, fixing bugs, and code reviews for a while.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
JΓ©rΓ©mie Astor

I was interviewed by DEV's founders 🍾
Improved my language by adding closures where required and cleaning the AST.

Also keeping an happy mindstate while in lockdown.

Good weekend everybody!

Collapse
 
justan0therdev profile image
Ruan Montelo

Fixed a bug in my Redis database clone where a key-value pair was not deleted (freed even when calling methods that should do so) when a delete command was issued. I'm not an expert in C so that was a win!

Collapse
 
enchance profile image
enchance • Edited

jimbong.com is an old portfolio domain which was silently taken by some kind of Chinese e-commerce site in 2008. Checking now in 2020 I saw it has since expired. So I bought it back HAHAHA. I missed you buddy.

Collapse
 
manishfoodtechs profile image
manish srivastava • Edited

I introduced xtra power css inshort, xp.css
Trying to develop it as single css library that will kill media queries in future. It is more than that.

Collapse
 
warengonzaga profile image
Waren Gonzaga

Release of my latest open source project called fork-corner! Hope you like it!

Collapse
 
dawntraoz profile image
Alba Silvente Fuentes

I passed the AZ900 certificatioooooooon πŸ¦ΈπŸ¦ΈπŸ¦ΈπŸ‘©β€πŸ’»

Collapse
 
siruswrites profile image
Darshan Rander

Wrote my first article and uploaded a video on YouTube

Collapse
 
nishants profile image
Nishant Singh

I had a senior person in my team drifting apart. I tried to talk to him, turned out he felt as if he was not contributing enough. After a few kind words and assurances, he completely flipped. He is more proactive and productive now.