DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey everybody! 👋

Another week down... hope it was a good one for ya.

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Going to the movie theater 🎥

Tyler the Creator eating popcorn in a movie theater. He looks overjoyed and you can see him mouthing the words "Oh Shit!"


Did you know we feature wins in our "Wins of the Week" email every Friday? Subscribe to our weekly newsletter emails to get wins delivered right to your inbox! 💌

Top comments (27)

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

We launched DEV Challenges!

I had such a fun time making this header, I am so happy with how it came out!

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

This was a busy week…

  • Started a new dev project (my first of the year)
  • Rescued 2 sites that were hacked (weak user passwords 🙄), one of which was for a marquee client, without major downtime
  • Handled my first solo interviews. Sadly, no winners. The one that we wanted decided not to accept our offer 🤷‍♂️
  • Made headway setting up a new project management system for dev projects (ActiveCollab just isn’t doing it for us)
  • Started a migration project moving all our hosted WordPress instances to WPEngine

I’m sure there’s more, but man…I’m whipped! 😮‍💨

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

I updated the UI of the gdocweb website. I'm going to speak at a meetup and a conference. I will be writing the cover letter for the Dzone API trend report.

I didn't keep up with my followers here on dev. It passed 10k without me noticing and is around 13.7k followers which is pretty cool.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

My wins...

  1. Finally removing the nails/staples from my stairs so I can sand them and stain them.
  2. Had my resume reviewed and need to make very few but complicated corrections.
  3. Watched The Gentlemen on Netflix without any distractions
  4. Did 30 pushups without stopping.

@michaeltharrington name your win(s)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo nice, Stefan! That's a really well-rounded mix of wins right there. 😀

I'm gonna join ya on the list here:

  1. I did quite a bit of working out and body-moving... Ran twice this week (the weather is nice), did a bunch of yoga/stretching/calisthenics, I've been hanging on a pull-up bar at least 3 minutes a day + doing pull-ups (I'm still at about 8 in my first set and diminish after, but I'm getting better form).

  2. I got a new guitar pedal for a great deal on Craiglist. It's a UAFX Ruby and sounds amazing — it perfectly models a range of Vox AC30 amplifiers! I've been reworking my pedalboard and am siked to play with my band tonight. 😀

  3. I've been working on a new Mod Contest that will launch early next week and I'm pumped to see the effects!

  4. My wife and I are oh-so-close to finalizing our construction loan with the bank so we can begin building our house! It's been a long long time coming folks!

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Congrats on the wins this week. Yoga is on my list of things to try.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Thankya! And yoga really is good stuff — I highly recommend it.

My hips and lower back having been kinda bugging me, so I've been trying different stuff out. This YouTube channel has been a pretty good one for yoga. Side note: DDP has a yoga channel and there are some pretty amazing transformation stories — check out this mini-doc with Butterbean.

Not exactly yoga, but I like this channel for chiropractic advice and stretches that relieve pain.

Thread Thread
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore • Edited

I get to learn the downward dog and a diamond cutter at the same time. I am moved

Collapse
 
skyloft7 profile image
Mohammed

I've added hot-reloading to my game engine by watching projects files using the Java NIO API. It saves time but now I've got a new problem, I'm so used to using the engine without HCR that I just manually reopen the project sometimes.

Welp

Collapse
 
link2twenty profile image
Andrew Bone

I have written more post so far this year (even though it's only 4 so far) than I did for the entirety of 2023 and I'm hoping to keep the streak going 🥳

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hot damn! 🔥

I've seen your posts too and they are high-calibre. I actually pointed somebody to some of your Rusty posts the other day — good stuff! It's no easy feat to continuously write posts like that. Just to say, I see you and you're rockin it! 🙌

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I renewed my Azure AI Engineer and Azure Data Scientist associate certifications. I also hit a point in my master's class where if I don't even do a final project I still pass the class (I'll still do the project) and worked through a blocking issue preventing me from making progress on my next book.

Collapse
 
ryencode profile image
Ryan Brown
  • I excised IFTTT from my personal devops situation.
  • Refactored a project with multiple similar endpoints, into a single endpoint with a selection parameter (this is appropriate as the schema result is the same, but the selection kind is different) and reduced duplicated code.
  • Disabled MS's co-pilot on all our home windows machines, recovering a ton of CPU and Memory resources. Our family Minecraft sessions are much more enjoyable!
Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Oooh yaaay Minecraft <3

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Finally learned a little bit of UI design! The design I made is not impressive by any means, but considering most of the things that I make look like a dumpster fire (no offense to myself, it's just true), I'm pretty proud of this one.

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

Our OpenSauced team launched a huge new feature called workspaces 🎉

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Awesome work!

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

Thank you!

Collapse
 
_michellemello profile image
Michelle Mello

I finish the first challenge in the front-end course I'm doing. It's easy, but I was really happy to do it. I feel like I'm getting better every day and it's awesome.

I also passed 2k followers here and I can't believe it. I love this community and all the love that we have here. For sure you all make a huge difference and motivate me every day to keep studying.

Thank you so much!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern
Collapse
 
tiuwill profile image
Willian Ferreira Moya

I finish coding a CHIP-8 emulator in Java. Always wanted to enter in the emulator world and creating ne and it was a fun and rewarding experience! Hope to jump to do it for another console in the near future.

Collapse
 
aarnabsaha98 profile image
Arnab Saha

This week is going to be one productive week I guess.
Completed one high-priority ticket for my company's product and raised the PR.
Hopefully, I get closer on this.
Worked on LWC UI on the same Salesforce project.
I resumed my unfinished Full stack project Video&Stream and made some good progress.
Most importantly I got connected with this beautiful platform.

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

Here are my big wins this week:

  • Renewed my SC-200 Security Operations Analyst
  • Management consulting interview

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.