DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Reaching a milestone in your career ... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Congrats on your accomplishments this week!

Balloons that read "yay"

Top comments (41)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

The current iteration of the DEV home feed in our new a/b testing strategy is showing some really nice improvements. We're finally turning the corner on providing a more enriching and relevant feed.

This was experiment one which did not beat the current standard, but the new one likely will.

We're not treating this in any purely quantitative way, the main thing is that the feed be able to provide a quality, constructive experience and less click bait — but honing in on better practices for objective measurement is a huge step forward, and I am very excited!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

I have high hopes for this second version, weighting on comments should hopefully reveal the interesting articles / the ones where the author engages (although has any consideration been made about people who disable comments due to mental health etc? Just thought that now! To be fair I haven’t seen how much weight has been added to comments so it might not matter!)

Either way mega excited for the results 💪❤️

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati • Edited

Public speaking is very much still my kryptonite 😅

But today, me and my friends on Fall Cohort 2021 shared our React project collaboration experiences at The Collab Lab to the Virtual Coffee community! 💙

youtu.be/BtJTeGuUKTM

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

This is so amazing. Love to see it, Ayu.

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thank you so much, Gracie! 😄

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Just put yourself out there, if your speaking is anything like your writing you will soon be great at it! ❤️💪

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thank you! 😃
I definitely still need to practice more on speaking 😄

Collapse
 
fromaline profile image
Nick

My ultimate win this week was being one of the top 7 authors in the first week of 2022!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Congratulations! 🎉

Collapse
 
fromaline profile image
Nick

Thanks a lot!
Let me take the opportunity to say that you're such a great author. The article about your writing stats for 2021 and plans for the next two years is so inspiring! Thanks for high-quality and useful content! 🙏

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Wow, thanks so much! Let’s both knock it out of the park this year 💪🔥

Thread Thread
 
fromaline profile image
Nick

Yeah, let’s rock!

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

I've finally found the time and published 3 (!) articles from my beginner-friendly zero-to-hero series "Building a Social Network" this week ! 😎

Here's the latest one:

I'm very excited about this project and hope it'll help someone learn full-stack development from drawing a sketch to deploying an enterprise-grade product to the cloud:-)

Here's a sneak peak to how it might look like in the end:
Animated prototype

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

What an awesome project and series, who knows you might be building the next Twitter or Facebook! 🔥

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

Thank you :-)
I'll take it as a compliment, though the intention really is to encourage niched (and therefore distributed) communities. For me this project is more about knowledge sharing and creating a generic solution me or someone else can reuse in the future personal or commercial projects

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Try again then, "who knows you might build the next Forem!" 😋🤣

Sounds interesting 👍

Thread Thread
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

Why would I do it if Forem is open source? 🤓
You know I'm still haunting you for the hex table, right? 🤪

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Why would I do it if Forem is open source? 🤓

  • Because not everything has to be open source
  • Because Forem is only one way of solving the problem of bringing niche communities together and giving them a platform
  • Because it gives you loads of things to write about
  • Because you can monetise it
  • Because you could build it in a different language for people who don't know rails
  • Because I need somewhere else to showcase my useless lookup tables 🤣

I could go on (as you well know lol!)

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I started the year out well on publishing more content on DEV (and elsewhere), I was pretty happy with that - now I want to keep up some momentum! I also learned a number of things. The overall win was getting through that "first week of the year" hump, though :-)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

You can do it! 💪

Collapse
 
__manucodes profile image
manu

Redesigned my personal website! manuthecoder.ml/

Collapse
 
posandu profile image
Posandu

I see you used material.tronic247.com/ :D

Collapse
 
__manucodes profile image
manu • Edited

yeah i checked it out from the message you sent me a few months ago lol

I made a similar framework: matifycss.manuthecoder.repl.co/doc...

credits to you for the ripple thingy

Thread Thread
 
posandu profile image
Posandu

Wow, nice

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Looks good! Just a heads up the menu drops onto 2 lines on iPhone when you scroll. Good luck with the site, hope it does well! 💪

Collapse
 
__manucodes profile image
manu

Thanks for letting me know :)

Collapse
 
yactouat profile image
yactouat

My week's main accomplishments were that I managed to:

  • deploy a Kubernetes worker that runs a Symfony Console app' indefinitely (I knew more or less nothing about Symfony Console apps and Kube workers)
  • implement pull Pub/Sub messages from a completely unknown API that I had to write code in

I finished my week with troubles de serializing Pub/Sub data payloads with PHP and I did not solve that one so I was quite frustrated, but your post reminded me that I did move forwards and for that I thank you ;)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Take a break from it, you will come up with a solution when you least expect it! 💪

Collapse
 
yactouat profile image
yactouat

so true ! thx ! and have a great week-end

Collapse
 
nftcryptomix profile image
nftcryptomix

Because I am new to coding my big win this week was understanding div's specifically classes and id's and how they connect to css . # I am so amazed on how quickly I am picking it all up but have had the hick up here and there but that win was huge for me :):):).

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Keep going, you will be building amazing stuff in no time! 💪

Collapse
 
nftcryptomix profile image
nftcryptomix

Thanks

Collapse
 
star_trooper profile image
Atharva Shirdhankar • Edited

Started contributing to Android base Open Source projects this year which I wanted do to since last year 🚀.
Also created my first issue on GitHub for Devto Android app.
I m so happy to contribute forem as an Aspiring Android Dev.

github.com/forem/DEV-Android/issue...

Collapse
 
seek4samurai profile image
Gourav Singh Rawat

Participated in Hackathon and submitted there. Was a win for a beginner.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Amazing stuff, keep contributing, it will all come back to you times ten! 🔥

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Nothing special but I have enjoyed my day :)

Collapse
 
glowinginthedark profile image
Bilal

I posted my first ever tutorial on this site yesterday!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Great stuff! You can link to your articles on DEV using

{% post then the full URL and close it with %}. Then you get a card like this…

Collapse
 
syxaxis profile image
George Johnson

Packing my daughter back off to college after Xmas so I can get some peace and quiet to get back to coding again! Ha ha!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Lol!

Collapse
 
jaindamini1111 profile image
Damini Jain

I published my first ever article yesterday!

dev.to/jaindamini1111/sampling-bia...