DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Howdy y'all! 🤠

It's Friday — woot woot! 🙌

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Beating a video game 🕹

A clip from a Mortal Kombat game... Liu Kang is doing his signature flying-through-the-air kick on his opponent, Baraka as the words "Finish him!" flash on the screen.


Did you know we feature wins in our "Wins of the Week" email every Friday? Subscribe to our weekly newsletter emails to get wins delivered right to your inbox! 💌

Top comments (60)

Collapse
 
benuuts profile image
Ben

My fourth child is born and I added some free tools to my personnal project fliqr.codes at night while my kids were sleeping 😂

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Congrats

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Félicitations 🎉

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh rock on, Ben! Congrats on the little one!

Collapse
 
ssuthar1 profile image
Ssuthar1

Hey, I just went through your fliqr.codes. May I know which technology was used here? I am also a Laravel developer and want to create something similar for my personal development.

Collapse
 
benuuts profile image
Ben • Edited

My stack is :

  • Nuxt 3
  • Supabase (auth)
  • Stripe
  • S3 (file storage)

Hosted on vercel 😊

Thread Thread
 
ssuthar1 profile image
Ssuthar1

Thanks, brother. I am available to you at any time. If it is okay with you, can we connect? Ben

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆ • Edited

📰 I published a post on DEV! ✨

 
🍕 I got a large pizza with a 1.5 litre soft drink at a discount! ✨
Large Norwegian pizza with an orange soft drink  
💖 My favourite win was a win for everybody! I learned that DEV listens to us! Thank you SO much for all your hard work! I love you guys! ✨
Growing heart emojii climpart
Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Can I have a slice. That looks good.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

It was very good and it had meat (chicken) on it for a change 😊

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww, thanks a bunch. We are indeed listening! And by the way, thank you, Anita, for sharing your honest thoughts with us. It's super helpful!

... Holy crap, I want some pizza now, hahaha!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Teehee 😁

Collapse
 
vashnavichauhan18 profile image
vashnavichauhan18

This week I wrote my first blog on dev. to

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Youhouuu 🎉
And a good post 👌

Collapse
 
vashnavichauhan18 profile image
vashnavichauhan18

Thankyou 😁 you made my day

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow, this is a wonderful first post! Good stuff all around and thankya for sharing with us. 🙌

Collapse
 
vashnavichauhan18 profile image
vashnavichauhan18

Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the kind words! 🙌

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

I published an article that show how easy it is put AI in Jupyter Notebook...and make impact on Customer Experience:

What brought me the most satisfaction was to shoot the video storytelling in a single shot:

I'll use this content to explain this technology around me to help people jump in the trains

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow! Good stuff all around, Adriens. And major congrats on shooting that video in a single take. 52 minutes non-stop is no joke. Rock on!

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

52 minutes non-stop is no joke.

Thanks a lot for the very kind words ☺️

Yup, I had the feeling and let the flow happen. The flow state really is my favorite feeling. I specially like to prepare the storytelling mentally then do the job.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited
  • I've finished one part of the code, and I'm really pleased with the result! You can get archives via SSH and display them in a table with Nuxt and Fastify. 🚀
  • A friend and I streamed Poppy Playtime on his Twitch channel. It took 6 hours, but chapter 3 is just as cool as the previous ones! 🧸
  • Annd fix a FOUC bug (removed line-height: 1.6; to my body)
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, never heard of Poppy Playtime — that looks demented in the best of ways! Did y'all record it? If so, send that link over!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Yeaah there is a VOD

Collapse
 
lilxyzz profile image
Travis • Edited

This week I ...

  • Focused on refining my personal site and used a bit a bug spray 🪳
  • Got a few more levels playing this ARK / Pokémon game called Palworld, TY game gods 👾
  • Continued living in a sauna, aka Perth 🔥

Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Congrats on the wins, Travis! Heard many a good thing about Palworld... might have to check this out soon.

Collapse
 
kaamkiya profile image
Kaamkiya • Edited

I started working on a command-line client for Dev.to :)

Edit: I published an article about it!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooooaaa! This is awesome Kaamkiya. You planning on sharing a post about this when it's ready? Side note: we need to have a good dedicated tag for folks to share DEV-related apps under... I'll look into that!

Collapse
 
kaamkiya profile image
Kaamkiya

I definitely will :)

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro • Edited

Following the cool format of @lilxyzz comment..

This week I ...

  • I advanced my knowledge of integration testing with the DOM
  • I started my new study project, a simple website for you to search for the best rated places in your city to go out

Let's goo

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot woot! Sounds like a good week, Renan.

As for the study project, it sounds dope! I'd like to hear about that one. You planning on using some APIs to grab that info?

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro • Edited

Heyy @michaeltharrington, sorry to be late 😅

Yess, I'll use the Yelp API. Basically, on the website I'll ask and get your location and based on your latitude and longitude I get a list of places around you, and with that I'll set up a structure to get the best rated ones and show them on the screen.

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen • Edited

I started implementing React components with @preact/signals-react and figured many working patterns to use. This is the most delight I've had working with React in a long time! During the past three years I've grown increasingly weary of how much work you have to do to make well performing components.

With signals I can skip many React pain points. I also mixed in more use of native addEventListener & other DOM which have combined into compact and very efficient code inside the light React wrapping.

Downsides so far:

  • useSignals() manually to every component using signals because I haven't bothered to use the Babel plugin
  • Storybook doesn't like signal props, you get a guaranteed infinite loop (workaround: make a wrapper component inside the stories file and use that for meta and StoryOf)

The new components are extracted logic of a very huge and complex main component which I am now finally refactoring to sensible and more well abstracted pieces. I worked a lot with this same component three years ago but then I focused mostly on fixing usability and performance, and cleaned up the code to be at least readable. To put it as nicely as I can, the original solution was clearly written by people who did not have frontend as their main focus.

Collapse
 
arthur-101 profile image
Saurav Kumar

This Week, I took a step in AI/ML world. I only plan on looking around for about a month though ('cause of my Annual Exams).

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Right on! Sounds like your focus is in the right place, Saurav. Hope the AI explorations go well for ya!

Collapse
 
arthur-101 profile image
Saurav Kumar

Yeah, Thanks!

Collapse
 
mrlinxed profile image
Mr. Linxed

The biggest thing this week for me was that I finished the first part of the Java Programming course from the University of Helsinki.

java-programming.mooc.fi/

I'll continue with some projects of my own before continuing with part 2.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! That's what's up. Hope part 2 goes nicely for ya!

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore
  1. I found a great place near me that has great pizza!
  2. Started the rework of my portfolio.

@michaeltharrington share your wins with us

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Stefan! Thank ya for the ping.

And haha, it must be a pizza kinda week. You and @anitaolsen are making me hungry for a slice!

So, I've got a few wins:

  1. A number of us on the team have been working on our FAQ/help page here... while it's not a secret, I don't think we've announced this yet, so you're kinda getting ahead of the scoop here.

  2. I went and played music with a group of folks I don't usually play music with on Tuesday and it was a lotta fun. It was very casual, I was the youngest by far, and we played a lot of old folk and Americana tunes together. Good times!

  3. I've been steadily working out the past few weeks and feel like I'm seeing noticeable gains in strength!

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Congrats on the wins, stay with them

Collapse
 
waveplay-staff profile image
WavePlay Staff

Big wins and kitty grins this week! 🐈✨

• Just dropped our first Dev.to post for 2024. Gonna be way more chatty here this year!
Finally announced our new bot hosting service. Big step for us, kinda nervous but super stoked!
• Almost nailed our Pub/Sub setup for those live deployment logs. It’s been a ride, but so worth it.
• Chill time with loads of cats. Absolute bliss. :3

Kitties

Hope y’all smashed it this week too! Happy weekend, everyone! 🎉

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Big wins and kitty grins this week! 🐈✨

Hahaha! Never heard this phrase. Love it. And dawwww, look at those 2 beautiful kitties!

What an awesome week!Glad to hear ya are posting on DEV as an org and excited to hear more. Congrats!

p.s. Keep the cats comin' haha!

Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas Brømsø • Edited
  • I made two open source releases:

    • Perl distribution Date::Holidays, 1.36 incorporating yet another national calendar, wrote up a brief post
    • The GitHub Spellcheck Action, had updates to core component and Docker base image, yet another short write up
  • I made some progress with the Exercism challenge 48in24 did a write up on the challenge for those interested.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I passed the Azure Document Intelligence skills assessment and recorded my final segment of my LinkedIn Learning course on Computer Vision on Azure. My AI initiative at work was formally adopted and approved by leadership as well.