DEV Community

Cover image for What's Your "Yes, And?"
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

What's Your "Yes, And?"

Share your favorite power phrases that have enhanced your communication in work conversations.

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

"Yes, And?" is an excellent one. I took some improv classes and became a big believer in "Yes, And." I also like "Seek first to understand, then to be understood," (from Covey's seven habits) - I often remind myself of that phrase when I'm impatiently waiting to blurt out my own truth. If you really listen first, what you have to say and/or how you frame it is likely to change quite a bit.

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

My fav

It’s not the highest priority

Collapse
 
sagaofsilence profile image
Sachin

The power phrases we use depend on the situation we are in or the role we are performing. A manager or supervisor communicating with a subordinate, a presale team talking to prospects, a support team talking to angry customers, a developer appearing in an interview, and so on.

Here are my fav:

  • Tell me more!
  • I hear you
  • What else?
  • I am interested in learning about...
  • I am sorry I wasn't clear
  • Can you do that for me?

I highly recommend learning more about these phrases from the subject matter expert Meryl Runion

Meryl Runion (Author of Perfect Phrases for Managers and Supervisors)

Author of How to Use Power Phrases to Say What You Mean, Mean What You Say and Get What You Want, Perfect Phrases for Managers and Supervisors, and Power Phrases

goodreads.com
Collapse
 
kadokura profile image
Yuka Kadokura

I believe it's essential to thoroughly understand what the other person wants to convey in work conversations.
When I have something to say, I first listen to the other person, ensure I grasp their points, and then express my opinion based on what they've said.

Here are my favorite:

  • "I see, I understand."
  • "Oh, I see, I didn't know that."
  • "What led to that?"
  • "So, there was such a backstory."
  • "Please tell me the reasons behind that."
  • "Exactly!"