DEV Community

Cover image for Earth Day Celebration Landing Page submission
Daniel Hodvogner
Daniel Hodvogner

Posted on

Earth Day Celebration Landing Page submission

This is a submission for Frontend Challenge v24.04.17, Glam Up My Markup: Earth Day Celebration Landing Page

What I Built

My main goal was to create an unusual aesthetic. Neo-brutalism, Y2k, and a little bit of Furiger Aero inspired me. I tried to mix and match styles and elements until I found something that I believe is visually appealing.
I mainly used CSS and a little bit of JS. I had to sacrifice a lot of readability, but I think it was worth it.

I hope you like it as well!

Demo

Try it out: https://esyfyi.github.io/2024-earth-day-frontend-challange/

Screenshot 1
Screenshot 2
Screenshot 3
Screenshot 4

Journey

My process was simple: I went online, looked for inspiration, tried to recreate them, and then mixed and matched until I found something I liked. I also used a lot of clip-paths and CSS filters; I like how the contrasting text interacts with the background illustration.

I used Adobe Firefly to generate the background illustration, and then I separated it into multiple layers using Photoshop.

I had to use requestAnimationFrame to smooth the scrolling animations, as using only the scroll events felt choppy.

Overall, I'm happy with the result, and it was a fun couple of hours.

Sorce code: https://github.com/esyfyi/2024-earth-day-frontend-challange/

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wow!

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra ๐Ÿ’ซ

Omg, this looks great ๐Ÿ’ฅ๐Ÿ’ฅ๐Ÿ’ฅ. Job well done ๐Ÿ‘

Collapse
 
ra_jeeves profile image
Rajeev R. Sharma

This looks awesome. ๐Ÿš€๐Ÿ‘

Collapse
 
webcraft-notes profile image
WebCraft Notes

Awesome design and realisation! Great Job!

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

If I had to rate this, it would definitely be 100 out of 10. Not kidding!
I love it and went crazy the first time I saw it ๐Ÿคฏ

Collapse
 
nadiafedev profile image
Nadia

It looks amazing ๐Ÿ˜€

Collapse
 
highflyer910 profile image
Thea

Amazing! ๐Ÿคฏ

Collapse
 
arndom profile image
Nabil Alamin

Pretty cool ๐Ÿ‘Œ

Collapse
 
cipivlad profile image
Cipi

Hey that's nice! I really like how the content and the style merge!

Collapse
 
buddhikaherath92dev profile image
Buddhika Herath

Wow, this looks really amazing!

Collapse
 
jorgedelcampo profile image
Jorge del Campo

Man! Just one word: Wow! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ•บ๐ŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
tranluyen profile image
tranluyen

Wow, the effects look really impressive! However, if you could make the content easier to read, that would be even better!

Collapse
 
fernandofinyellow profile image
Fernando Bold

Congrats, Man!!

Collapse
 
gracimar profile image
Gracimar Perez

Great job! Congrats!