DEV Community

Dimitri Mostrey
Dimitri Mostrey

Posted on

Every language is like a god

My first post. A philological one. After this, I go PHP/Laravel.

What is a language?

Any language, is it human or programming, have some things in common. Attention. Effort.

Is it Spanish you are learning. Or JavaScript. There is not much of a difference. The more time you put in it, the higher the probability you will learn it. The better the end result.

Is a language a god?

Yes, with small 'g'. Because there are so many. I speak 4 languages more or less fluently. I program 4 languages. The path to get there is very similar.

At first you don't understand squat. Isn't it? It sounds like Chinese to me.

Nobody is born with a laptop and a degree in computer science into their lap.

So where should I start?

The beauty is: anywhere you want. Unless you are forced to. Learning a new language is easier if it is something you really want to learn.

Some people, and we all know some, are simply not suitable to become programmers. They probably think we are crazy to put so much time in coding. If we even share our daily occupancy with them. (Which is fine)

How to convince yourselves?

To our time? Effort? Income? Simple: the outcome. The satisfaction that thousands, if not, millions of people will enjoy our work.

Image description

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

awesomeness. and inspirational.
I responded to a poster here just a week ago and he gave me the impression that PHP is dead. what would you say ?

My next move is to learn it in parallel with JavaScript.
I appreciate your post I also have been learning Spanish for a while too lol. And then JS right now. Spent a whole week trying to wrap my head around git.