DEV Community

dragonwocky
dragonwocky

Posted on

Service Workers... aren't working

Well, I know there are articles all over the internet that talk about service workers. However, I'm stuck.

I'm trying cache a few files for offline use, for a small game I'm working on, which I would've thought would be relatively simple. Previous versions of it used <html manifest="cache.manifest"> to cache the files necessary, and I had planned to do the same once again... until I did a bit of research, and found it was deprecated.

Service workers are, apparently, the recommended replacement for the appcache. For some reason, I can't get them working, though. I've tried following the instructions for making a web-app work offline with service workers off the MDN web docs, but I keep getting Uncaught (in promise) TypeError: Request failed in the console.

Help would be much appreciated.

View the game @ https://car-cricket.glitch.me
View the source code @ https://glitch.com/edit/#!/car-cricket

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
usamaashraf profile image
Usama Ashraf

assets/cricket.png doesn't seem to valid since I'm getting a 404 on hitting car-cricket.glitch.me/assets/crick....

It's good to catch these kinds of errors too:

cache.addAll(cacheFiles)
     .then(() => console.log('Assets added to cache'))
     .catch(err => console.log('Error while fetching assets', err));

Also, addAll won't cache any of the specified assets if even one request fails.

Collapse
 
dragonwocky profile image
dragonwocky

Ah, thanks. That's fixed the error, but I still can't access the site offline. On mobile, it just shows the "no internet" page, and on computer I either get no errors or I get An unknown error occurred when fetching the script.
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_INTERNET_DISCONNECTED

Collapse
 
usamaashraf profile image
Usama Ashraf

See if this helps.

Collapse
 
meduzen profile image
Mehdi M. • Edited

There’s just no car-cricket.glitch.me/assets/crick... (look in car-cricket.glitch.me/assets), that’s why the Service Worker can’t cache it.

However, this file URL is cdn.glitch.com/6cc9893d-2247-43b3-..., so even with the fixed URL, it won’t be cached because Service Worker can’t cache external resources, if I’m correct.