DEV Community

Cover image for LIVE Streamed My Project on YouTube Every Week for 1 YEAR!
Dustin Brett
Dustin Brett

Posted on

LIVE Streamed My Project on YouTube Every Week for 1 YEAR!

It all started on the first Saturday of 2021 (January 2nd). That's when I began my adventure on YouTube with my first live stream, discussing my new passion side project.

I continued these streams every Saturday of every week in 2021. I've created a playlist that has these streams as well as my continued videos related to this project.

The project has been released on my personal website @ https://dustinbrett.com for a week now and has received lots of great feedback.

I am still on my journey to my original goal of 1,000 subscribers. This year has brought in 700 which is amazing and I am grateful for those subscribers who have decided to support me by following my YouTube channel.

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
vasanth9 profile image
vasanthkumar

Awesome man. Really appreciate your effort and also for sharing your coding process in youtube live streams. The project was ❤️.
It's really hard to keep up consistent every week, but you have did it almost an year. Your dedication levels are great.

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thank you! I'm glad you appreciated the effort.

Collapse
 
room_js profile image
JavaScript Room

Just checked the result! I must say you have done great job! Winamp is like the real one from 90s :D

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett • Edited

Thanks! I can only take credit for getting that Winamp clone into my project, the hard work of the recreation goes to webamp.org/

Collapse
 
room_js profile image
JavaScript Room

Ah, I see. But the rest is done super nicely too!

Thread Thread
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks!

Collapse
 
anthonyjdella profile image
offline

Nice, I only watched a few minutes of your stream but I plan on going through them at some point. You seem like a good teacher

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks! I hope something I post online can help someone in some way. :-)

Collapse
 
anthonyjdella profile image
offline

This is actually a brilliant idea. More developers and maintainers should creat videos to help explain your project. After all, documentation is sometimes hard to understand.

Thread Thread
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks! Ya it can be quite helpful for me also to do it in front of the camera and have to explain it again, sometimes I realize it doesn't make sense.

Collapse
 
qviper profile image
Viper

You are inspiring. I can not imagine how popular your contents will be in no time.

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks! Much appreciated! Now I just need to keep making content I guess :-)

Collapse
 
devqik profile image
Youssef Hussein

That's really cool 👏Keep it up bro.

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks! I'll do my best!

Collapse
 
nicolasbiondini profile image
NicolasBiondini

What a project man! Congratulations! Keep doing things like that! 👏💪

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thank you!

Collapse
 
spandan profile image
Spandan

Awesome Man it is incredible.
Keep it up !

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks!