DEV Community

Cover image for Day 386 : Machine
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 386 : Machine

liner notes:

  • Professional : Got a bunch of small things done today to get ready for the weekend. Reviewed a PR. Made a small change to a tutorial and created a PR. Spoke with the engineering team to get some information to help out with some community questions. Good day.

  • Personal : Last night, I got the part of the side project where people can sign up to do lightning talks / show and tell. Got the Twitter and GitHub login to show if you aren't logged in because I need that information if you want to come onto the show. Just don't want any random person jumping on a live stream. At least this way, I can check out their profiles beforehand. Once they send the request, it disables the form so no more changes can be made unless they cancel the request. Came out pretty good. I'll also be able to approve the request from the dashboard. If I approve it, it will place a count down timer on their request form to let them know when we will be live, if not, I can provide a reason and that will show up on the form. Had to really think things through to get it all working the way I wanted.

A cove with tall red clay walls and a waterfall flowing into a pond in Mooney Falls, AZ, USA

So, I've been keeping an eye on the release of a laptop for the past couple of months. It's a pretty powerful machine and comes with two screens which will help with doing the radio show and this new project I'll be launching soon. I have tabs that link to the manufacturer's official product page, different online retailers, and a Reddit forum. Something told me to check the sites as I was finishing up work for the day. Sure enough, there was an update to the Reddit post about 5 minutes earlier say that the laptop was for sale on a site I didn't even have bookmarked! I've heard of the online store before, but never thought to look there. Long story short, fingers crossed, it should be arriving late next week. The laptop I'm replacing with this new one will go to my Mom. I take pretty good care of my machines and get the latest parts when I buy them because I know I'll be holding on to them for a while. I think the laptop I have now is about 4-5 years old. And it will come just in time for the launch of my new project and will be a big help when doing the live broadcasts. Speaking of side projects, I want to get the tutorials section of the site put together. Not too much logic. I want to be able to input tutorials from the dashboard and have them show up on the work session page. Hope to get that working tonight. Also want to go through tracks for the radio show tomorrow. Going to try and make it a goal to watch the first episode of "Loki".

Have a great night and weekend!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)