DEV Community

Emelie
Emelie

Posted on

Nevertheless, Emelie Coded

I began coding because...

The desire to code have always been there since I was shown html code by a family member back in the 90s as a 8 year old.

Also you can create something out of nothing.

I'm currently hacking on...

Currently I'm working on small projects that will see daylight when done also working on my own website, which is the most exciting thing I'm working on.

I'm excited about...

To learn more about PHP, java and JavaScript. I'd like to learn much as I can in the languages that fascinate me.

My advice for other women who code is...

My advice is directed to beginners like me, get yourself a mentor if possible it will make the transition into something new more easier and fun, read read read all you can. And practise and practice, tutorials is your friend & Google.

If a man tells you to not do it because you're a woman (happened to me), don't listen. Just flip your hair (or whatever you can flip) in the other direction and JUST DO IT!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
pwd9000 profile image
Marcel.L

Hey Emelie!
What an inspirational post and also good luck with your own journey on PHP, java and JavaScript. How amazing.
Looking forward to some amazing posts!