DEV Community

Taylor Singletary
Taylor Singletary

Posted on • Originally published at Medium on

How I fail developers

I don’t tell you about the unknown. Even though it’s known to me.

I won’t tell you what something doesn’t do. Though I know what you want to do instead.

I don’t tell you about the quirks. I don’t want to believe in them.

I don’t clarify how this thing is different from that other thing. I let you figure that out instead.

I don’t tell you why it’s this way. It’s none of your business.

I don’t tell you what I don’t know. Though I know I don’t know it.

I didn’t discover what I didn’t know. I wasn’t curious enough.

I didn’t revise something old. Though I knew it was moldy.

Who edited this?

I was wrong. It took too long. I used too many words. I didn’t use enough.

I forgot to include a picture. Honestly, I forgot how.

My code sample was only hypothetical.

(too many parentheticals)

I didn’t ask for help.

I didn’t test it.

I didn’t change it.

I couldn’t test it.

I couldn’t change it.

My argument for how it could be different did not win.

I just write the docs.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rimutaka profile image
Max

Man, this is gold :) I would print and frame it on a wall, if I had a printer, or a wall.
Seriously, it is very good.
I'm nursing my injured pride after loosing a week-long battle against bad docs. I totally get what you are saying.
Why bother? Docs are not code - they don't fail an automated unit test.

Come back and write some more.