DEV Community

Camilo Martinez
Camilo Martinez

Posted on • Updated on

How it works mentorship program inside dev.to?

I see on profiles settings a Mentorship section. I think it's a great idea but I can't find an option to search for mentors? Is there something like this that I'm missing?

For example, I would like to interchange mentorship speaking my native language Spanish and at the same time have a mentor to practice speaking English.

It will be cool to have some kind of calendar with events/topics availability where people can schedule these meetings inside dev.to as part of the site.

I know gamification it's not included inside the philosophy of dev.to but it will be good to know the number of mentorships and hours that a user has invested in others. It will be good to show these metrics on your Resume (Curriculum Vitae).

A tool like this can give us more attention, visits and can be a big community help.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
camilomejia profile image
Camilo Mejía

I had no idea about mentorship here in Dev.to. Like you, I also want to help someone in exchange for English practice, but I'm interested in giving my mentoring in English exclusively and ask for feedback about my English proficiency and my mistakes. By the way, I'm also from Medellín.

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

I'm actually curious about how all of this works. I just see it around the settings page without really knowing how "Mentorship" works. Is it a remote mentorship through video calls or the like? Does it require a physical meetup? Or is it just an exchange of messages using Connect? And how does one become eligible to become a mentor? I'm honestly interested in becoming a mentor myself when the school year ends (when I have a lot of free time on my hands).

Collapse
 
recursivefaults profile image
Ryan Latta

I'll let the people who organize this say what is going on for reals.

The mentorship concept in dev.to is an idea being piloted. Some time ago there was an announcement about the new feature to say you want to mentor or be mentored. Then the organizers paired everyone off.

I am currently mentoring someone through that process.

I don't know what future plans are or how the program will expand.

Collapse
 
shindakun profile image
Steve Layton

It looks like a mentor is just matched up to a mentee and they are both contacted via email. Not sure if there are any other outward signs that someone is a mentor.

Collapse
 
jenc profile image
Jen Chan

haha, it looks like I just got matched with you!

Several months ago I was matched to mentor someone else. I just met them on Google-hangout today. I was even surprised I could at my skill level.

Collapse
 
equiman profile image
Camilo Martinez

Don't worry about your skill, all we are here to learn.