DEV Community

Eric
Eric

Posted on

Why I ❤️ Hacktoberfest

I have been participating in hacktoberfest for 3 years now and I just want to share a super short explanation of why I get so excited every year for this event. In one word it's:

Community

The first year I was trying to get into open source. So I joined hacktoberfest and started rifling thought #hacktoberfest tagged issues. To my surprise it felt way more fulfilling to know that what I was doing was adding value to so many other peoples lives. The code that I was writing wasn't for me, it was for everyone and that was so empowering!

The second year I was now running a React Meetup and we had the chance to host an event. It was inspiring to see all the people who were interested in similar things in one room - coding!

I also started my own repo last year to play around with the text-to-speech api in browsers https://github.com/ericadamski/alphabet-keys. It led me to write something I thought my kids would have fun with. Now it excites me every time I see a new comment on an issue or a new pull request. Just knowing that someone gets to leave a part of who they are in this code - it makes me giddy!

Also free T-Shirt! 🤤 I cannot leave this out! The shirts are amazing.

Hacktoberfest is such an amazing event that makes the global coding community feel like a tight group of like minded individuals trying to make the world a better place. I ❤️ Hacktoberfest!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
techgirl007 profile image
TechGirl007

Thank Eric. This year, I was finally able to experience, what you term, 'Community'. I am really enjoying it, and hopefully I will be able to create a project next year to help other newbies, like me, to this amazing platform.

Collapse
 
ericadamski profile image
Eric

That is amazing to hear! I cannot wait to see what you come up with 😃

Collapse
 
techgirl007 profile image
TechGirl007

Thanks Eric. Not sure...but I have a few ideas up my sleeve. The goal would be that it is easy to understand but offers a little bit of a challenge! ;)

Thread Thread
 
ericadamski profile image
Eric

If you ever need help, let me know!

Collapse
 
johanneslichtenberger profile image
Johannes Lichtenberger

Yes, it is sooo amazing. Getting PRs basically with the exception of a few years ago two times maybe for the first time. Especially as I really worked so many times after work and on weekends on a project I really really love.

Collapse
 
ericadamski profile image
Eric

That's a super cool project! It definitely helps us you are enjoying the project 😃

Collapse
 
lukegarrigan profile image
Luke Garrigan

I love your enthusiasm, and I also love the app you made for your kids. I just made a little PR to it myself 😀.

Thank you for the blog 🚀

Collapse
 
ericadamski profile image
Eric

Wonderful! Thank you for the contribution! 💯🎉♥️