DEV Community

Cover image for My Journey into the Fundamentals of Computer Graphics - Part 6: Revenge of the Upcoming Projects
Eric Buitrón López
Eric Buitrón López

Posted on • Originally published at eric-buitron.hashnode.dev

My Journey into the Fundamentals of Computer Graphics - Part 6: Revenge of the Upcoming Projects

All Good Things Come To An End... or Do They?

Hi everyone, as I stated in last week's post, this is the last post of the "My Journey into the Fundamentals of Computer Graphics" series. While I did get the chance to see some basic concepts from computer graphics, these past weeks have been more about learning/remembering the fundamental mathematics that are used for Computer Graphics. Now I'll make a quick recap of each article before I close off this series. Last week I also mentioned that I already have in mind what's coming next so I'll also describe my upcoming projects.

My Journey into the Fundamentals Of Computer Graphics Archives

A New Project

Read it here!

The article that started this series. I start by describing the 2 books that I used as reference throughout the entire series:

Linear Algebra Strikes Back

Read it here!

The second article in the series is all about remembering core concepts from linear algebra.

Return of the Rotational Issues

Read it here!

The third article in the series describes some problems that might arise when doing rotations in 3D.

The Quaternion Menace

Read it here!

The fourth article in the series is all about Quaternions.

Attack of the Lighting Techniques

Read it here!

In the fifth article, I describe the introduction I got to basic lighting techniques, alongside some difficulties I had along the way.

Revenge of the Upcoming Projects

This is the article that you're currently reading and also the last of the series!

The OpenGL Tutorial Awakens

[404 Holocron not found]

This is one of the new projects that I'll be working on. It's all about learning OpenGL by following these resources:

The Last Shaders

[404 Holocron not found]

This is the second of my new projects. It consists of learning more about shader programming. It's important to mention that I will do my best to recreate each shader in 3 different game engines: Unity, Unreal & Godot. I'll explain in the next section why I decided to do this. The resources I'm going to follow are:

The Rise of Computer Graphics

[404 Holocron Not Found]

This is the third and last of my new projects. It will consist of learning the topics covered in an undergraduate-level computer graphics course. It's based on following the syllabus & projects suggested in the Graphics Codex. The resources I will follow are:

The Rule Of Three

As you can see, I'm planning on following 3 different projects. The idea is that I will make some progress in each of these projects each week. I decided to structure the projects this way because it will allow me to cover both the theory and practical aspects of computer graphics. For the shaders programming project, I decided to use 3 different game engines. You can see that some resources are supposed to be engine-specific while others cover several. However, the recent fiasco of Unity's new pricing plan reveal, made it very clear to me that it's very important not to stick with a single game engine and instead be comfortable using several. Besides, this also means that I will get more practice which is always great.

With all of this out of the way, it's finally time to say goodbye to this series (which is also my first blogging series). I hope that you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! I invite you to tell me which was your favorite part of the series!

Top comments (0)