DEV Community

Fabien Herfray
Fabien Herfray

Posted on

🌴🍹 Chill networking for ranting hackers

...Because they say that complaining about the same things connects people.

Hi everyone!

TLDR: Would you use my networking side project? https://www.frenl.com

As a developer and person that doesn't like to go out that much, I don't have a lot of product/design/business people in my network. It has often been a problem for me when working on side projects and trying to learn things outside of my dev bubble.

I've been working for a while on a tool to help with that and my biggest problem has been so far to get the users to talk to each other. It's actually hard to get two strangers to talk.

I am now experimenting with two new concepts to help with that:

  • Adding some "hot takes" as a core of the user profiles to give them a more clickbaity flavor (they tend to be a bit bland right now).

  • Adding self-interviews to user profiles to create empathy and spark more interest.

The one that I'm the least convinced about is actually the "hot takes" because I'm not sure that people will open up easily.
That's what I wanted to know your opinion about today hehe.

Thank you and have a great weekend all!

Fabien

Top comments (0)