DEV Community

Cover image for Introducing Folderfly : An ultimate AI powered tool using Nylas to enhance your MailBox!
FelixCodeur
FelixCodeur

Posted on

Introducing Folderfly : An ultimate AI powered tool using Nylas to enhance your MailBox!

This is a submission for the Nylas Challenge: AI Expedition.

What I Built and Why

I created a SaaS for the Nylas challenge that allows its users to finally have a clean mailbox. An open-source Artificial Intelligence takes care of sorting emails correctly into different folders, such as Work 💼, Vacation 🏖️, anything social 📱, etc.

Customers also have the option to let the AI answer certain emails.

Also, are you tired of always missing your professional meetings? Now, with Folderfly, your meetings communicated by email are automatically added (with your agreement however) to the calendar đź“…

In short, I created this tool to help people as much as possible, and put an end to the involuntary mess of their mailboxes. I hope this SaaS will bring a few smiles to potential customers! 🙂


Demo

Here are some images to demonstrate the features of my submission:

Image description

Image description

Image description

Image description

Note: I couldn't do a video due to lack of time (features are: translate email, summarize email, add event, reply with ai, enhance email, chat with Folderfy copilot).


Code

You can find the source code of Folderfly in this github.


Your Journey

I first started by looking for an idea, then when I checked my mailbox, I realized how messy it was. There was spam everywhere, nothing was organized, in short, it was unreadable.
So the idea came to me: use nylas to properly organize people's mailboxes.
So I opened vs code, and started the challenge.
First, I needed the backend. I created all the functions I needed, found an AI, and organized it all. It still took me 4 days đź’€
Then, it's the turn of the frontend. I make a basic home page, with a nav bar. I then finish displaying the client's emails on the web page, I add a calendar, display all features, and that's it. The app is ready!


Special Thanks

I would like to thank the dev team and nylas very much for respectively: being a wonderful community and providing such exciting contests, and providing very impressive and interesting API functions totally for free!
Good luck to every contestant!

"Great things are done by a series of small things brought together." – Vincent Van Gogh

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jamesshan profile image
jams allen • Edited

Folderfly is an AI-powered tool that integrates with Nylas poly clinic to enhance your email experience by organizing and managing your mailbox more efficiently.

Collapse
 
hikolakita profile image
Hikolakita

Great work!