DEV Community

Thomas H Jones II
Thomas H Jones II

Posted on • Updated on

Consumer-Grade Cloud Backup Service for Linux Laptops?

My current laptop is fairly long in the tooth and its OS goes into final de-support (no more security-patches - yikes!) this coming January. So, time to replace it. I'm thinking of getting one of System76's Linux-based laptops to replace it. However, I'm concerned about backup costs. With my current, Windows-based PC (or, if I wanted to hold my nose and switch back to OSX), I'm able to use BackBlaze's unlimited cloud backup offering. Switching to Linux, if I wanted to stay with BackBlaze, I'd need to switch to B2.

At any rate, since there's undoubtedly a number of you who use Linux for your base operating system, presumably some of you are using a cloud-based backup solution. If so, what are you using, how well has it worked for you and, likely most critically, what have your costs looked like?

Thanks in advance!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I use Syncthing for anything I'm concerned about. It works between my own devices, so I have a few hundred MB distrubuted to my phone, desktop and laptop. It means I don't have to trust that a cloud provider will be there in a year.

For larger amounts of data, I use things like google drive and dropbox, but I rarely access them from linux, and if I do, it's usually in the browser.

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Yeah, there's plenty of tools to get things into cloud-based backup-oriented storage-offerings, it's just that none of them are as cost-effective as BackBlaze's unlimited offering for Windows and Macintosh. Thus, it's less the tools I'm concerned with than the ongoing financial-outlays.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I guess it depends on how much data you need to back up. For me, I can afford to restart from scratch I guess after a disaster, but I don't feel I need to save any amount approaching the free tiers of any of the cloud providers. I pay £10 per year I think for 100GB on Google Drive (which still doesn't have an official linux client).

Collapse
 
dietertroy profile image
Troy

Cloudberry Backup offers a Linux based version of their client which can back up to your public cloud (or local l/network) provider of choice.

Try that. Or maybe rsync to a NAS (CIFS share or similar).