DEV Community

Cover image for Developing GroupUp Journey
Filip Frincu
Filip Frincu

Posted on

Developing GroupUp Journey

Table of contents

πŸ‘¦πŸ» Some info about me
⏳ How GroupUp started
πŸ—ΊοΈ What will this series be about
⏭️ What's next


In my first ever blog post, I've decided to share my journey developing GroupUp, an app that aims to make organizing gatherings easier and more fun. I'll be diving into the technical aspects and explaining the logic behind them.

On a side note, I've also embarked on a journey to improve my typing skills, so hopefully, writing these blogs will be a good practice exercise.

πŸ‘¦πŸ» Some info about me

I started my career as a migration engineer about six years ago. Then, I migrated (pun intended πŸ˜…) to web development, and ever since, I've focused on creating things that (I hope) bring value.

Being a father of two definitely throws some curveballs my way sometimes, but there's nothing quite like the joy of fatherhood.

⏳ How GroupUp started

A few years back, my friends and I used to have regular movie nights. Deciding on a movie was always a struggle, so I created my first React app, MoviePoll, to help us pick the next one.

While movie nights eventually faded away, we kept exploring other activities like hiking and camping. We used WhatsApp to coordinate, but you probably know the struggle with spam in WhatsApp groups – it wasn't ideal for planning anything.

That's what sparked the development of GroupUp. Integrating features like transportation coordination, location sharing, weather forecasts, and a simple RSVP system made organizing our get-togethers so much smoother.

You can find more info on the About page.

πŸ—ΊοΈ What will this series be about

I'd love to share how I achieved different functionalities in the app. I'm no web development guru, and I'm always open to learning and improving, so feel free to leave your feedback in the comments!

Here's the tech stack I used to build the app:

  • React: JavaScript library for the frontend
  • CapacitorJS: Enables building for both Android and iOS
  • OneSignal: Handles notifications
  • Supabase: Powers authentication, storage and the database
  • Vite: Frontend tooling

Feel free to check out the app, and if there's a specific feature you'd like me to cover in a future post, let me know!

⏭️ What's next

In the next blog post, I'll be diving deeper into the reasons behind my choice of tech stack – stay tuned!


⭐ If you enjoyed this content, feel free to follow me on Twitter and LinkedIn for more updates, insights, and discussions!

Top comments (0)