DEV Community

Fletcher Moore
Fletcher Moore

Posted on

No ios Device to Run/Test App

Hi all, I'm looking to develop an application in Visual Studio Xamarin for both android and ios. I'm an android user (nothing against ios as I've used it in the past) and have nothing that uses ios to be able to test the application or a Mac to simulate an ios device.

Is there a way around this? For example a VM running ios to act as a Mac? Or anything else?

I have looked at buying an ios device but can't afford to do that right now.

Thank you in advance.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
tswiftma profile image
tswiftma

I think that Visual Studio allows you to run your app in many mobile simulations including iOS. That will get you 95% there. To run on an actual phone to test you would need to "crack" the device to load the app outside of the app stores.