DEV Community

Taiao
Taiao

Posted on

Hello world!

Who am I?

I’m Taiao, a 25-year-old videographer turned software developer. I’m currently studying a diploma in Web Development and hope to land a job as a full-stack developer at the end of this year once I wrap up my studies.

I’m a huge Warhammer 40k nerd and read all of the books, even though I’ve never actually played the tabletop game. I love gaming with my buddies, and I have a lot of creative hobbies like music production, videography, and sound design.

Despite success as a full-time freelancer for around three years, I’d never become a true expert in a subject or even gotten a qualification. In late 2022, I decided coding would be that thing for me and set out to learn all I could.

Where to?

I’m really interested in cybersecurity and think it could be a cool career option. I’ve always wanted to help people, especially those in vulnerable communities. So, I figured why not bring that attitude to the online world and use my strengths and skills to do some good?

I know the reality is probably a lot of reading, monitoring stuff, documentation, and meetings, but the interest is there!

Despite that interest, I know there’s a ton of stuff to learn in the world of code, so I’m not completely set on my end destination. I’m confident that as I work my butt off and learn, I’ll end up where I want to be.

My goals for my dev.to page and beyond

Well, this blog isn't going to be super enlightening (for the near future anyway, check back in a few months).

For now, it’s mostly just a place for me to ramble on about my experiences as a developer. Think of it like my personal “rubber ducky”.

I’ll dive into my workflows, the tools I’m using, and anything else that I find helpful, to the best of my ability.

How I'm bloggin

Handily, the notes app I already use, Obsidian, uses markdown, so today i'm trying it out to write and format this post. I created a new "vault"(note location) purely for blog posts, and I'm currently planning out an efficient workflow to get posts out.

I've also employed the controversial ChatGPT to help me spell check and iron things out when i'm rambling on too much. In the future I may use grammarly instead.

Once I work my head around things and feel like less of a noob, I'll consider doing a write-up of the tools I use.

Anyway, nice to meet you, and I think that's me for today. Cheers!

Top comments (0)